A Practice of Avoidance.

It’s that time of year again.  I know some of you are sighing and thinking about warm drinks and cool evening walks complete with leaves crunching beneath your feet.  Others of you are picking apples and pumpkins and crazy looking gourds to decorate with, to carve, to eat.  If you’re american you may still be dreaming of pumpkin pie which we canadians had weeks ago already.

For us, it’s the season of not being able to take our youngest anywhere.  ANYWHERE.

I forget about this every year.  Every.  Year.  I had forgotten again until  the other day when we quickly bolted into the local pharmacy to pick something up and there it was, standing mid-aisle, complete with wart on nose and blood red eyes.  A witch.  I stopped as soon as I saw it and I held out my hand for him to grab knowing his eyes hadn’t gazed quite as far up ahead as mine had.

I turned to him and lightly said, “Hey bud, I just want you to know that there’s some Halloween decorations coming up.”  He looked up at me searching my eyes to know if he could trust them.  We locked.  I nodded.  “It’s a witch.  It’s kind of creepy but not really gross.  More like silly creepy.”  His eyes never left mine because he knew I was there for him.  “Okay Mom,” he answered.  “I’ll just walk looking down at the floor and I’ll hold your hand so you can guide me, okay?”   Okay.

It seems that every year I forget that this is coming.  Every year I think maybe this year he’ll be okay.  And every year he’s really not.   But we’re learning how to navigate it together.  We’ve built a trust through it.  An, I’m-right-here-with-you, sorta thing.  And every year we choose where we shop or where we even enter based on how they decorate.  Because we love him.

We love his imagination that takes him to crazy places.  We love that we can be out for a family walk and he’ll declare that sometimes he thinks that everyone in the world are just robots and he’s the only one truly alive.  We love that he finds elephants with glasses speaking spanish in the shapes of the clouds.  We love that Curious George is still his favourite movie, though everyone around him has already moved on to Harry Potter.  And we nearly died laughing the other day when he asked why someone would ever want to store themself.  (as we passed a self-storage place)

We love him for all that he is and part of what he is is discerning.  Part of what he is is a lover of good and a hater of evil.  Part of what he is is so pure and lovely that he can’t imagine why suddenly for a month there is such ick in the world.  We love all of these parts of him and so we warn him.  We turn his attention away before he has to see.  We assure him when it’s safe and when it’s not.  He knows we’d never lie.

So as he lays in bed these nights, he’s fine because of the adjustments we’ve learned to make.  He doesn’t have yucky images of skeletons and ghosts filling his thoughts or battling for a place in his mind.

Many people have suggested that we try to get him use to it.  Expose him to it so that he’s not so fearful.  But the truth of it is, I don’t want to.  I’m fine with him being afraid of skulls with spiders crawling out of them. I’m okay with him not wanting to see a mask with blood dripping out of the eyeballs.  I’m totally good with him never needing to dress up as frankenstein or a witch or anything creepy at all.

We’ve chosen to protect him rather than expose him.  Sure, there are times when it takes away from his fun.  Like at my hubby’s work party where they served jello brains and cookies with fangs.  He would have been fine with those except the deli meat was adorning a skull.  None of us caught it until we were right there.  And it did ruin his night.  But it’s a minor price to pay for a child who wants no part of evil, of death or of gore.  I rather prefer it this way.

And when moments like that happen he’s learned not to dwell there.  But to turn his gaze on things that are lovely.  On things that are of God.  It turns him to Jesus as he prays these images out of his mind.  It draws him to rely on His saviour and that’s exactly where I want him to be.

If you’re interested in Halloween related posts from years past and how we celebrate you can find them here  and here.

7 thoughts on “A Practice of Avoidance.

  1. I totally totally get this. I HATE the evil images of death and murder that adorn the aisles of my local grocery store 2 weeks of the year. Why is it okay to celebrate death this time of year, especially in such family-oriented places? I’m not saying I don’t take my girls out for the traditional Halloween festivities… I don’t boycott… It just amazes me, when I think about it, how it’s suddenly okay. Us humans are so strange aren’t we?

    My girls were terrified last year. They hated the ghostly figures dangling from the ceilings and the blood dripping ghouls popping up in front of them but this year, they seemed okay with it and it actually made me sad. I’m sad that it doesn’t phase them, that these images are now “ok”. I saw a Facebook-centered argument on the weekend about the inappropriateness of First Nations based costumes… and couldn’t help but put in my two bits: dressing up as a figure of North American history is NOT okay but it’s totally cool to dress up as a mass-murderer, blood sucking beast or a rotting, bloody corpse? I didn’t even start on how you can’t even find a woman’s costume that isn’t raunchy. You can be raunchy policewoman, raunchy prisoner, raunchy pirate or raunchy fairy. The choices are limitless! 🙂

    I think it’s wonderful that your son is still leery of these things Rhonda. It means there’s innocence left in this world somewhere :).

    Like

  2. I always get the rolled eyes my way whenever I say ANYTHING remotely negative about this time of year.. but the fact is I hate it…wish it would go away. People say its all in fun. But not for those whose children are like your little one Rhonda. Not for those who adore their Lord and don’t wish to “celebrate” an event meant for calling out the dead and holding off demons!

    I’m so thankful that my kids never WANTED to be the scary stuff…and so thankful that they attended a school where that wasn’t tolerated either.

    I’m praying my way through the next few days. 🙂

    Like

  3. I have found myself not loving halloween as much as I used to these past couple years. I love dressing up and the idea of trick or treating is kinda cute (minus the candy part), but it has really become too much!! Last year my cousin lost her daughter right before Halloween and it made all things death related (ie grave stones, corpses, skeletons etc) seem disrespectful to me. I decorate my house with pumpkins, spider webs, bats, scarecrows and all things fall…that has been my compromise.

    Like

  4. Carla, I think you’ve summed it up. Us humans really are strange 🙂

    I’ve never wanted to be a hide inside on Halloween kind of person. I didn’t mean to rally against family festivities or spend my time at “harvest parties” instead of Halloween ones.

    My dear friend commented on this last year with this, ” It’s our fervent belief that ALL days are God’s days and that Satan no more ‘owns’ Halloween than he does any other day. The battle is won. End of story.”

    I agree with her with all my heart. This isn’t about hiding or worrying that Satan will take over this day. It’s about choosing what we celebrate with the good of my particular boy in mind. I simply feel that’s my job as his mama.

    I love seeing wee munchkins in their furry little costumes. I love the time that families spend together visiting their neighbourhoods. I love that schools give out hot chocolate and that people are generally so hospitable.
    But I agree with you, Anita. It’s the death and gore that really bother him and bother me. It’s not something I want to celebrate and it seems to get harder and harder each year to avoid that part.

    I guess it’s really just a reflection of the world we live in. Some of us want cute and sweet. Others want harsh and icky. Others want suggestive or raunchy. Guess that’s what makes the world go ’round…

    Like

  5. I totally relate to Phoenix 🙂 I’m the same way! I wanted to let you know of a cd that someone recently gave me. Its classified as a “lullaby” cd but its really for all ages, even adults. I’ve played it in the kitchen during the day, or I play it in my kids’ room almost every night as they fall asleep. Its basically Scripture set to music. I love the idea of them falling asleep to God’s powerful Word. If you’re interested, its called “Hidden In My Heart: A Lullaby Journey Through Scripture” by Jay Stocker. You can check it out on Amazon or probably itunes too! So thankful a friend let me know about this music… just another way to fill our minds with things that are lovely, true, and holy.
    Love you 🙂

    Like

  6. Thanks so much for sharing that, Jen. I’m going to order it for him. You’re the one I always think of (and come to) when Phoenix has issues. I know you share a kindred heart and your words for him have always been wise. Love you!

    Like

Leave a comment