Celebrating the Unseen – Would you help?

I’ve never been the ‘I am woman, hear me roar’ type. I don’t ever fist pump or yell from the bench. I don’t sign up for really big challenges that leave you muddy and spent.

I prefer quiet. My heart beats to the rhythm of calm and if you were to ask me what I’d like to do the very most it would be something along the lines of being in the woods (where it’s calm and quiet) or reading a book (where it’s calm and quiet). You get the point.

It sometimes seems like the world was made for those that live spicy and loud. Or it can start to feel that way at least, when you’re not.

So I wanted to take a few minutes to encourage some of you who might be a bit more like me. Just because hoopla doesn’t travel in your time zone does not mean you aren’t doing important things. You are.

I know, there aren’t really medals for the most biographies read this year and the tv doesn’t pan to the girl in the stands just quietly watching the game. And let’s be honest, there’s no way I’d want to get up on some stage to accept a trophy and even the thought of being on the big screen makes my skin itchy.

Not all of us desire a big deal, but we all desire to be noticed.

We were made for connection and community, even those who value their alone time.

I was with a friend last week who made the comment about our families ‘quiet ministry’. Β The ministry that will never be blogged about or even talked about because it involves other people’s stories, moments, and families that are not ours to share.

It made me want to somehow celebrate all of the other people out there with quiet ministries. Those of you who just keep showing up. The ones that give endless time and shareΒ all they have. The ones who cook meals and hold babies in hard times. The ones who pray quietly, yet ever so fervently. I know you’re out there and I want to acknowledge you and thank you and tell you how important your work is! How amazing your life is and how sacrificial you are!

But I also know that it won’t be that important to you to hear that. It’s why you’re in a quiet ministry likely. You don’t desire the fanfare and the accolades make you squirm a bit. I have a feeling you might even shrug your shoulders and say something like, “Oh no. It’s not that much. It’s not a big deal.”

But it is a big deal. Enormous, in fact.

In quiet ministries there’s no one you can talk to about it. No one to vent to that you’re tired. No one to share the frustrations. So if that’s you and you’re feeling a bit frazzled, then take this as your pep talk. You’re veritable pat on the back. A huge hug that says – you aren’t alone. I get it. I see you. It’s hard, but you’re doing good work.

To those in louder ministries, can I challenge you? Don’t look at others not doing loud things and judge them. Don’t think that just because you don’t see the work that it’s not happening. It is. I know it is because I have quiet people around me doing cool stuff and never, ever broadcasting it on instagram – not because they don’t want to, but because they can’t.

If you feel like any of this resonates with you can you do something for me? Can you drop me a message? Don’t tell me what you’re doing and I promise to ask no details but simply send me a message asking me to pray for you? I’m setting aside time just for this and I would really be so honoured.

And if you think you might have people in your life who have a quiet ministry, would you share this post? I want to celebrate every single person doing stuff that never gets seen. Let’s lift each other up – behind the scenes!

Three cheers for all of you from the bottom of my Jesus-loving heart. Loud or quiet, all of you willing to say yes and follow. Thank you and hurrah!

 

 

Leave a Reply

