Rosewater Toner [DIY]

You have no idea how amazing my house smells right now. None. You couldn’t possibly. But you can, because I’m going to tell you a little secret so that your house can smell this amazing too.

_MG_3178

Making rosewater makes your home smell delicious. Like, I just keep taking great big inhales sort of delicious. And I have this fear that it’s going to fade which means I’m just going to have to keep making rosewater on a constant and perpetual cycle!

Why rosewater, you ask? Or maybe you didn’t, but I’m about to tell you anyway.

_MG_3182_MG_3186

Turns out there’s this thing called Rosewater Toner. It also turns out that I’ve fallen absolutely head-over-heels for it. Remember when I made these toners back in the fall? Well, I figured this couldn’t be much more difficult so after a bit of research I realized this might be even easier. And prettier. I’m a fan of pretty.

_MG_3195

What’s up with Rosewater Toner and why do I love it so much? ย There are a number of reasons but here’s the short list;

  • rosewater toner is a great part of natural skin care
  • rosewater toner balances pH in the skin
  • rosewater toner reduces redness
  • rosewater toner minimizer the appearance of pores
  • rosewater toner is full of antioxidants
  • rosewater toner can be used over top of makeup to moisturize your skin
  • did I mention it smells amazing?

Here are the three ingredients you need before you start

  • roses (choose organic, pesticide free ones so you aren’t spraying chemicals on your face!)
  • distilled water
  • witch hazel

To make Rosewater Toner you simply pull the petals from your roses in he-loves-me-he-loves-me-not fashion and place them into a pot. Add enough water to just barely cover the roses so your rosewater is good and potent.

_MG_3246

I placed a small lid inside the pot to keep the rose petals right down in the water and then simmer your rose petals on as low of heat as possible until the colour is pulled from the leaves.

_MG_3250

_MG_3254

Strain your petals and your left with decadent rosewater! All that’s left is to add a few drops of witch hazel to prolong the life of your rosewater and to make it an effective toner for your skin.

_MG_3258

_MG_3260

Look at that gorgeous colour. I’ll show you again in case you missed it!

_MG_3267

Pour it into a mister and you’re all set!

IMG_0004

This rosewater is obviously super fresh and so I keep mine in the fridge to help it last longer. Plus, the cold mist on your face is beautifully invigorating! It can keep for about 2 weeks. Just in time for more roses to have bloomed in the garden!

I suggest you make an extra for your best girlfriend, or maybe your Mom. Especially if you stole the roses from her garden like I did! (love you, mom!)

Don’t feel like making your own? Beautycounter has a Nourishing Rosewater Mist that I use daily!

Screen Shot 2016-07-18 at 7.34.36 PM

 

Leave a Reply

