New Rage + A Giveaway

Activated charcoal seems to be all the rage lately. I really knew nothing about it until I stumbled upon an article listing its many uses and health benefits.  Of course, I was intrigued. And bought juice that contained it – in the name of research.  (It was delish!)

IMG_4712

Over the past few weeks I’ve done a bit of research for you so that you don’t have to.

Here’s what you need to know first of all – you can buy straight up sticks of activated charcoal for pretty cheap and you can get all of the benefits from it in this form.  I love this because it means you don’t have to buy silly expensive products to benefit from what charcoal has to offer.

Binchotan_CharcoalStick_3_1024x1024

Gwyneth Paltrow’s website, Goop, has this to say;


Drop it into a carafe of tap water to remove chemicals (leave for 6-8 hours for optimum results), soften water, and improve the taste; add it to a hot bath to improve circulation and detoxify, or “plant” in your garden to create healthier soil. A single stick usually lasts from three to four months—boil it once a week, and when it finally releases no bubbles, you know it’s time for a new one (at that point, you can then use it to deodorize the fridge or enrich your compost).


 

Interesting, right?  I love it when one product can have a bunch of great uses.

Word on the street is that you can use activated charcoal to treat bug bites, to whiten your teeth, alleviate bloating and to treat acne.

As if all of this wasn’t enough, I then learned that Beautycounter has a cleansing bar that has activated charcoal in it!  What?!

th

Then I realized it wasn’t available in Canada yet.  Talk about emotional roller coaster!

So I waited patiently and as soon as it released I grabbed a few bars because an acne fighter for my teens that isn’t mussy and fussy and isn’t loaded with chemically grossness?  Yes, Please!

IMG_4717

And the truth of the matter is, I grabbed an extra bar to give away to one of you!  Because I care about what you’re using on your skin too. As I’m building this little business I’d love to do this from time to time.  I’m sure you already know that I make exactly zero dollars from this blog so informing you of these products every now and then is just my way of sharing something I believe in and allows me to make a few extra bucks to support my Americano habit!  Most importantly, I love what this company is doing and as you know – when I like something – you’re gonna hear about it!

Alright, enough rambling.  One person will be chosen by random selection and I will send that person one bar of Beautycounter’s Charcoal Cleansing Bar. Yay!

Here’s how you enter:

Head on over to Beautycounter by clicking here. Then come back and leave a comment!  It can be anything.  Some cool fact you learned on the website, a product you’d love to try, what you had for lunch.  I don’t care.  Your comment will be your entry.  Comments on Facebook work too!

Would you consider tagging a friend, as well?  Make a deal that if one of you wins you’ll cut it in half and share it?  Now go.  Get to the commenting!  I hope you win!

*Giveaway closes Wednesday June 21, 2016 and will be announced June 22 so check back!

**Giveaway open to Canadian residents only.

8 thoughts on “New Rage + A Giveaway

  1. I’m the same way, Kayleigh! I’m so happy to report that this bar (and the whole line) is awesome! It makes me wonder if it isn’t the chemicals in the other stuff that GIVES us the acne? Lame.

    Like

  2. I love the company’s mission. I really want to try the Nourishing Rosewater Mist.

    I love using Charcoal soaps. They help my blemish prone skin so much!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

