2 Apps That Changed My Life

There are lots of apps I use everyday but most of them are geared towards my specific life.  One to check my boys sports schedule, another to keep up to date on their high school calendar, different ones for various accounts I use which keep my day to day functioning.  You know, how I invoice clients and how to check my cell phone bill and all of those normal life things.

But beyond that there are only two apps that I use pretty much daily and I thought you might like to know about them too.

I recommended a few of these to a friend the other day and she was so geeked out that she texted me from her bathroom as she was scanning her deodorant!  I loved it because my nerdy self said this to my husband only days earlier while we were shopping together.

Him:  We need soap.

Me:  You may want to walk away now if you can’t handle what’s about to happen.

And that’s when I whip out my phone and start scanning all the codes on the soap!  Right in the aisle of the store!

An app that can scan things, you say?  Oh yes, my friend.  Oh YES!

These apps have been life changing for me.  Life. Changing.

Think Dirty App – I know what you’re thinking and stop it!  The founder of this app said this,

“Think Dirty® is a project born out of a personal journey to understand the truths in the beauty industry. Due to family history of cancer, I decided to research into the many causes behind breast cancer, including ‘toxic’ ingredients in cosmetic and personal care products.”

I’ve long been a curator of all things safe and natural in my home.  I mean, who wouldn’t want safer products?  Think Dirty allows you to scan the bar code on normal every day products from lotions to shampoos to eye shadow and it gives the product a rating.  10 equals bad.  0-3 means it’s safe!  I won’t buy anything without scanning it now.  Literally.

I have truly walked in to Sephora looking for a moisturizer, scanned dozens, and left empty handed.  Because who wants cancer-causing agents and toxins being rubbed into their skin?  Not I!

IMG_4684
Bye-bye previously favourite shampoo!

Healthy Living App – This app is put out by the environmental working group and has a similar function to the Think Dirty App but is much broader so I use both.

Never heard of the EWG?  This is a bit of who they are:

The Environmental Working Group’s mission is to empower people to live healthier lives in a healthier environment. With breakthrough research and education, we drive consumer choice and civic action.

We are a non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to protecting human health and the environment.

We work for you.  Do you know what’s in your tap water? What about your shampoo? What’s lurking in the cleaners underneath your sink? What pesticides are on your food? How about the farms, fracking wells and factories in your local area? Do you know what safeguards they use to protect your water, soil, air and your kids? Which large agribusinesses get your tax dollars and why?  What are GMOs? What do they do to our land and water?

More than two decades ago EWG set out to answer these questions, and more, and to empower you to get to know your environment and protect your health.”

Amazing, right?  Because it’s overwhelming for us to think about ALL OF THE THINGS!  But they do the leg work for us and we can simply use their app as a tool to tell us;

  • Yes!  Use this product.  It’s so safe.
  • Warning!  This project is safe for most but may contain allergens.
  • No!  This product contains harmful toxins, carcinogens, allergens, cancer causing agents and hormone disruptors!

And then we can make our decisions from there about whether this is something we actually want to buy, purchase, or give our money to.

I’m so thankful for these apps because I’m a busy mama who doesn’t have time to research every company.   But I want to!  I wish I could.  For the health and safety of my family it really does matter to me what we’re breathing, ingesting, lathering onto ourselves.  These apps make it so simple for us to know.

Download them and go scan something!  Then come report back because I want to know if you were as shocked by your scores as I was!  

I thought I was an all-natural, organic, semi-crunchy sorta girl but my numbers showed me I was off base and that marketing on a package isn’t enough to base our decisions on! But now, after working through it slowly replacing one product at a time I’m happy to say that my average score of 8-9 has been brought waaaaaaay down!

3 thoughts on “2 Apps That Changed My Life

Leave a Reply

