Why I need a million reminders and maybe you do too!

photo 6

My kids remind me of things constantly.  Partly because they know they need to if they want anything to happen but also because I’ve asked them to.  When you have three active, make-their-own plans, kinda kids this is just how it has to be.    I no longer plan their sleepovers.  They make arrangements with their friends.  I don’t have to coddle them as they get their school projects finished, they just do them.  But clearly I need to be in the loop.

Not only because I want to be an active and attentive part of my kids life, but for logistical reasons like, I need to drive them there or pick up some construction paper.

We have a system in our family.  It goes like this.

Remind me!

If you have film club after school, remind me in the morning.  If you have a basketball game tell me where you need to be.  If the milk is almost gone, let me know so I can pick up more.  If you have outgrown your socks, for the love, make it known!

It happens with almost everything in life.  One child needs a chiropractor appointment and another has a sports medicine appointment and one has a meeting about high school next year and the list is endless.  Of course I have a day timer and I write endlessly but I want them to know that they are responsible for the things that they’re doing and so they need to be active participants.

They leave me notes taped up around the house that say, “Please call again to check on my doctors appointment time.”  Or, “Coach needs to talk to you so please email him your number.”

It’s how we function around here and it helps me and I believe it’s training them.

Sure, I could always just have enough milk and always make all the phone calls but as they grow I want them to learn and so we do it together.  We remind each other.  We use many ways to let the other know what we want or need done; notes, words, phone calls, text messages, the list goes on.

I was reminded today that God does the same thing for us.

Upon thorough reading you’ll notice that the bible repeats itself.  A lot.

As I studied Deuteronomy this week I couldn’t help but think, “I just learned all of this in Numbers, only one chapter ago!”  I started to think about skimming and plowing through because, y’know,  I’ve got this!

But let’s be honest.  I forget the things I read in scripture just as quickly as I forget to make that phone call about the doctors appointment.

Our days are full.  Life is busy.  We’re juggling a lot.  I know I am and I’m pretty certain you are too.  God knew we would be.  He knows our ways and our weaknesses and He knows that we are prone to hear, jump on board, and within minutes forget.

I’m tempted to think I’m so different than the Israelites grumbling as they wandered in the desert.  Complaining about lack of food and water and then fondly remembering ‘the good ol’ days’ back in Egypt when they had melons and meat!  Somehow they completely forgot the whole slave part though.  You know, the deliverance.  That whole Red Sea thing.   Forgotten.  Instead they see exactly two steps in front of their face and cry out that they’re sick of manna!

I’ll just admit that I’m exactly like them.  Over time things seem normal.  The house I was so thankful for just becomes normal.  The jeans I loved last month when I bought them feel less than stellar now.  The iPhone from last year is so, well, last year.

We’re a fickle bunch and God knew it and put in place ways to take care of us.  He did this in one way specifically.  Reminders!

“Only take care, and keep your soul diligently, lest you forget the things that your eyes have seen, and lest they depart from your heart all the days of your life.”  Deut. 4:9

“Therefore watch yourselves very carefully…lest you act corruptly”  Deut. 4:15

“And beware lest you raise your eyes to heaven, and when you see the sun and the moon and the stars, all the host of heaven, you be drawn away and bow down to them and serve them…”  Deut. 4:19

“Take care, lest you forget the covenant of the Lord your God which he made with you….”  Deut. 4:23

Over and over and over Moses tells the people to remember.  Remember what you’ve seen and heard.  Remember the statutes and commands.  Remember because I know you’re going to forget and you’re going to get too busy and you’ll raise your eyes to something else and glorify it instead of God, so remember.  I’m reminding you now and I will again and again and again.

Scripture does that for us and it’s why we need to come back to it all the time.  Every day.  Because we forget so stinkin’ fast.  It’s there for us as a constant reminder.  It’s there like a sticky note on the back of the door or a voice mail sent to yourself.  It’s there so that you don’t forget.  Let it help you not forget!

Leave a Reply

