Currently.

Currently reading:

Unknown

Notes from a Blue Bike: The Art of Living Intentionally in a Chaotic World

by Tsh Oxenreider

I love this book.  I love the thought that Tsh puts into every single thing she does and most of all I like her willingness to change her mind when something’s not working.

41oO0rIA5uL._AA160_

No Greater Love

by Mother Teresa and Thomas Moore

We all know there’s something special about this woman but reading her writings made me see it in a deeper and new way.  Her reliance on God for the love she showed was so obvious and outstanding.  The way she placed her life into His hands every day, even on the days she didn’t feel like it, is inspirational.  This book had me nodding and highlighting and dog earing nearly every page along the way.

51qNmix4OmL._AA160_

How to Talk So Teens Will Listen and Listen so Teens will Talk

by Adele Faber

I haven’t even cracked the spine on this baby yet but it’s next on the docket.  My son is worried.  As he should be.  Bwahahaha!

Currently watching:

greys__140512161825

 

I know.  I’m ten years behind.  Do NOT tell me what happens.  Ten years ago we didn’t have cable though so it’s not like it’s my fault I didn’t watch it back in the day.  Thanks to the genius of Netflix I can catch up on all ten seasons.  And when it’s dark at 5:30 these days and the laundry folding is endless, it seems a good thing to do.  Plus, it’s really funny to see how short we were wearing our sweaters back in 2007 and how cool everyone thought their flip phones were.  It’s like a history lesson and a dramatic soap opera all in one!

Unknown-1

I just watched the pilot but I think this’ll be my ‘hubs is watching hockey’ escape.  I’ve heard good things.  Anybody watchin’ it?  Tell me what you think!

Currently listening:


Unknown-2Toyko Police Club

I really like it when a Canadian band is awesome and I don’t have to try to like them for the sake of being patriotic.  My eldest got me into these guys and we took him to their concert for his 15th birthday.  They’re happy and mellow and all kinds of awesome!

Unknown-3Songza is pretty much our go-to these days.  Do you have the app?  It’s pretty amazing for playing tunes around the house.  Plus, I love choosing from their play lists that go something like, “It’s Tuesday evening.  Play music for…”  and you can choose from having friends over to working out to sitting by the fire.  It comes up with tunes for a snow day or tunes to vacuum to or tunes to just unwind.  I like that it does the work for me!  Plus, no fights over who gets to put their music on.  There’s usually something for everybody!!

Currently drinking:

Karlas_Specialteas_2012_Feb-108

Midnight Mint

by Karla’s Teas

I’m not a big tea drinker but this time of year I like a warm drink throughout the day and while I’d love to chug mug after mug of coffee and hot chocolate, I know that’s just not the best way to go.

Karla is local and makes the BEST tea.  Seriously.  Best.  Plus they come in cute little tins.  And they’re pretty.  And taste delish.  Try them if you’re from ’round these parts!

Currently obsessed with:

photo 3

The sunsets.  Seriously, obsessed you guys.  We have an amazing view out our kitchen window and we see all the gorgeousness of clouds plus orange or pink or whatever hue God happens to sweep across the sky that day.  Every single night I yell out, “You guys!”  And everyone comes in a panic thinking something terrible has just happened and then I sigh and point.  “Look!”

It’s so amazing how different it is every night.  And how glorious.  And it shows me just how amazingly creative our God is.  I wish you could all huddle around my kitchen table and watch with me.  I know you’d gasp too.

Currently living in:

Boots and coats and it really doesn’t matter what’s underneath because rarely does anyone see it.  I contend that I could have my pyjamas on with a great pair of boots and a nice coat and noone would know the difference.

Plus, I’m always freezing so I never take my coat off.  Is this a problem for you?  I nearly roast my children in the vehicle every day.  Suddenly one of them will say, “Mom?  I’m sweating and can hardly breathe.”  and it’s only then that I notice that it’s quite comfy in there and so I turn it down while they roll down the back windows and stick their noses out to get some air.

Currently studying:

I just finished up the book of Matthew and next week I dive into Numbers.  Have any of you ever done Precepts?  If you haven’t, you should.  If you want to, join the one I go to!

It’s the meatiest dig into scripture that I have ever found in a bible study.  The homework load is intense but we all know we don’t learn by doing  nothing, right?

I have no clue what to expect from Numbers.  I mean, who studies Numbers?!

Currently meditating on:  

This verse:

Matthew  25: 34-45

“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. 35 For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me, 36 I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ 37 Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? 38 And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? 39 And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ 40 And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers,you did it to me.’

41 “Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. 42 For I was hungry and you gave me no food, I was thirsty and you gave me no drink,43 I was a stranger and you did not welcome me, naked and you did not clothe me, sick and in prison and you did not visit me.’ 44 Then they also will answer, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or naked or sick or in prison, and did not minister to you?’ 45 Then he will answer them, saying, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did not do it to one of the least of these, you did not do it to me.”

I’m struck so deeply by the final  words. It causes me to contemplate everything I do. What am I doing for the least?  How am I treating the sick and imprisoned and hungry?  Are they even on my radar?  Big words.  Big thoughts. Big life applications.

Currently praying for:

The Impossible.

Currently dreaming of:

photo 4

Longer hair.  I chopped it all off in the summer and then even more in the early fall.  But I’m missing pony tails and top knots and basically being able to leave the house without doing a whole lot to it.

I always forget that short hair is more work.  I love it short, I just don’t want to put the time into it.  Grow, baby, grow!!!

If you have a blog and have done a post on what you’re into lately,  please share the link in the comments!

Leave a Reply

