Make and Give { Gingersnaps}

 

IMG_0005

I did my first make and give just a bit ago (you can catch that one here!) and I was super excited to do another one!  Truth is I’ve been having a hard time narrowing down which of all the things in my head I wanted to make.  So I decided not to over think it but keep it simple.

A little recap on why I’m doing the make and give series:

I’m lucky enough to have some of the most generous friends on the planet.  They’re thoughtful and know my love of gifts and basically get that the best thing ever is to arrive home to a little something on your doorstep.  Seriously.  Best. Ever.

What I’ve learned through my friends is that it doesn’t have to be a lot.  It’s so much more a token to say I was thinking about you today or I just knew you’d love this or even a little note that will make you laugh until you cry.

Generosity is something I think we all love being on the receiving end of, no?  But are we generous in spirit ourselves?

I think the world needs more of it.

So with that I give you our families tried and true Gingersnap Recipe.  I’m not sure it’s ever happened that someone has come into our home, eaten one of these, and left without asking for the recipe!  I actually keep a few copies of the recipe on hand in my recipe box to give out.  Although, now snapping a picture of it on your phone is just as easy.

These are delicious and chewy (not so much snappy!) and all the right things as far as flavours go.

I guarantee if you make these your family will love them and you!!  And remember to package a few up to give away.  Your friends will be so glad you did!

                         Ginger Snaps

2 Cups Sugar                                 2 teaspoons of Baking Soda

1 Cup Butter                                   4 1/2 Cups of flour

2 eggs                                              3 teaspoons of ginger

7/8 of a cup of molasses            1/2 teaspoon of salt

1)  Combine first four ingredients and mix well.

IMG_0010

2)  Add second four and beat until well mixed.

3)  Roll into small balls or scoop with a cookie scoop.

4)  Dip into sugar

IMG_0009

5)  Place on cookie sheet.  (cookies will flatten and spread so leave space)

IMG_0007

6)  Bake for about 8 minutes at 350 degrees.   Cookies will be soft when you take them out of the oven.  This is a good thing!  Let them sit on the cookie sheet to cool for about 5 minutes and then you’ll be able to lift them off without them breaking.  This is how you get deliciously chewy cookies!

IMG_0005

Next, and most importantly, don’t forget to package some up and leave them on your friends doorsteps!  I delivered a few dozen to my work for whomever happened to be working that evening.  ‘Cause who wouldn’t love warm cookies delivered on a night shift?!

IMG_0001Now go be a generous people!  Give what you can.  Share what you have.  Even just a few cookies!

Leave a Reply

