Almond Croissants. Need I say more.

So I was going to sit down with an agenda to write about how it’s sometimes really hard to apply the “God knows best” theory to your own life though it’s easy to smack that sticker on someone else’s back.  Someone who isn’t you.

But after a long time sitting with very little words coming I thought – you know what we need tonight?  We need to talk about Almond Croissants.  Because, duh, amazing!

photo 3

There’s a new little bakery that just opened up in town a few months back and they make the most delicious things.  Including, but not limited to, almond croissants.  They are truly a taste of heaven.  I think the banquet table in heaven just might possibly be covered with bite size pieces of things from Duft and Co. It’s that good.  Fluffy and buttery and crispy yet soft and flakey and just melt in your mouth perfection.  Add in the deliciousness of almondy bliss and you have, my friend, a pastry that will knock your socks right off.

I wish I could send one to all of you, I really do.  Instead I’ll show you that the box went from this:

photo 1

To this:

photo 2In mere moments.  I forgot to take a picture of the actual goods because my mind was on the consuming.  Well, that and I had to get  my share before little boy hands devoured it all!

In other news, my boys have started summer vacay a number of weeks early because there’s a strike  going on in our province.  I will say nothing about it because what I am not is a political blog.  What I will say is that for teens and pre-teens its kind of like the best birthday gift ever.  Suddenly no school?  Hurrah!  Don’t have to write exams?  God IS for me!  Can stay up late and sleep in and play soccer all the live long day? Let’s just say they’re thrilled.  Not for the reasons behind it (which I’m not going into, remember) but for the sheer bliss of summer having come early.  It’s like Christmas in June.

So we’ve busted out the jumbo freezies even though it’s not really hot.  We’re staying in our jammy’s a bit too long.  We’re eating hot dogs and calling it healthy because it’s not a jumbo freezie.  Aaaahh summer.

Did I mention we picked strawberries?  Because we did.

photo 4

We did and it was kinda cold and drizzly and we complained about how cold our hands were which is weird because usually when we pick we’re boiling hot and sweaty and we complain about how freaking hot it is.  What I learned is that we’re a bunch of complainers.  All of us.  Me included.  So we started a summer project which includes blank white sheets of paper and a sharpie.  I guarantee you this is a DIY that you can, in fact, do yourself.  (Hey – if I can do it, you can do it!)

photo 3

We’re basically just being thankful and instead of just saying we are and moving on we’re writing it down.  I think by the end of summer we can have the whole wall covered.  Right now I’m just blissfully happy at the fact that Jesus came in as high as number 44 and my sweet friend Krista was just a little below cereal and showers.  It’s not in order people.  It’s just the things we are feeling so thankful to have.  I’m sure you could find a craftier way to do this on a different sort of blog but you’re here for a reason right?  We’re not really crafty so we rely on paper and pens to get us through.  No judgement, crafters!  You do your thing and I’ll do mine.

photo 2

photo 1

If you’re still reading, bless your soul.  I don’t know why you are but maybe summer started early for you too and your already into the beach reads and not the heavy stuff?  That’s my theory and I’m sticking to it!

Happy Wednesday, homies!  May the sun shine on your face and give you the cute kind of freckles!

3 thoughts on “Almond Croissants. Need I say more.

  1. Hey Rhonda, where did you get your strawberries? I want to go pick some. Are they organic? I enjoy your blog when I get a chance to read it. Take care, and maybe I will see you on the grind some day soon!
    Val 🙂

    Like

  2. Hey Val! I got these ones from Mann farms on the corner of McCallum and Huntingdon. They are not organic, unfortunately. I drove through farmville looking for signs and this was what I found.
    The berries were fantastic and the people were so nice! I decided to buy some extra – more than we picked and she ended up giving me a bunch for free! I would definitely go back!!

    Isn’t it funny that the only time we see each other is on a mountain? Love it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

