Currently.

Currently reading:

51xmsUbGkKL._SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU15_AA160_

Generous Justice:  How God’s Grace Makes us Just  by Timothy Keller

 

515vVo-yVOL._SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU15_AA160_

Every Good Endeavour: Connecting your work to God’s work by Timothy Keller

51gf7MCJU7L._SL500_AA300_

The Girls Guide to Homelessness by Brianna Karp

Currently watching:

 

Screen Shot 2014-05-23 at 7.34.37 PM

Suits.  You guys.  This show.  I can’t even.

The hubs and I watched the first 3 seasons in a matter of months and now we’re anxiously awaiting Season 4 which starts in June.  You still have time to get caught up!  Do. It.

Currently listening:

images-1
images

Ah, band photos.

My 14 year old has become the DJ in our house and I have to say, I like his taste.  I like to think it’s because we didn’t let him listen to Raffi as a youngin’ but rather had him singing along to Belle and Sebastian at the ripe age of 3.

His tastes have broadened, his musical delight expanded, but it’s still nothing short of awesome.  He’s diverse and quirky and all of the very best things you want in a music picker.

So at any given time we can be found  dancing to K-OS, belting it out with Adele, breaking it down with Beck, buttoning up our cardigans with Weezer, pulling on our long Johns as we unemphatically bob our heads to Nirvana and the Chilli Peppers, or smile along with the musical stylings of The Shins. He is a boy after my own heart and his musical choices will take him far, in my opinion.

Currently drinking:

images-2

I’ve become high maintenance and I’m truly not okay with it.  You guys, I’m kind of embarrassed to order my drink.  However, the deliciousness surpasses the pride and my baristas have assured me that this is low maintenance on the grand scale of drink orderers.  They probably say that to everyone.

I always feared the day I had more than 3 boxes ticked on the side of my drink.  What has become of me?

The grande long pour breve americano misto,  though?  Totally worth it!  (Oh, and always yes to adding the extra shot!)

Currently obsessed with:

Making shtuff!  Like, obsessed.  In the past few months I have made my own dishwasher detergent, all-purpose cleaner, air freshener, face scrub and lip balm.  I also have the recipes and ingredients for other fabulous things like candles.  I’m becoming an all natural, do it yourselfer, and if you’re wondering who took over my body and what they’ve done with the real Rhonda?  I dunno.  That’s all I’ve got.

Currently living in:

Maxi every things!  (Well, except pads)  Last summer I thought that the maxi dress was like perfection in a garment but this year I finally found a few maxi skirts that actually fit and don’t make me look Amish!  Seriously, the comfort of this trend makes me hope that it sticks around for the next 10 years.  If it doesn’t, I’ll be THAT Mom who is still wearing them long after everyone has moved on.  Cause why would one move on from something that feels like you’re wearing pajamas but is the cutest thing ever?  That’s just dumb.

 

Currently studying:

As evidenced by the books I’m currently reading, I’m digging into what the scripture has to say about justice, how God is just and what it means for us, here, now.

I’ve been challenged a lot with what justice looks like in my own life as I meet more and more at risk youth in my community.  I can tend to be a bit of an extremist which means I waffle between doing nothing and wanting to do it all.  Now that I’m volunteering and doing something my heart strings are being pulled in the direction of doing it all.  But with limited funds and limited time, what does one do?

I’m also learning that it’s not my role to change anyone.  It’s my role to help.

Currently meditating on:  

This verse:

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”  Matthew 11: 28-30

I’ve long been an ESV bible reader but the language of The Message has recently bludgeoned my heart and it’s drawing me in.  Jesus words in this passage are life giving.  “Come to me.  Get away with me.  I’ll show you how to take a real rest.”  It conjures up images of a loving couple away on a soul-filling vacation.  “Get away with me.”  Away from everything else and just you and me. ” Walk with me.  Work with me.”  It’s an entangling of lives and an image of non-stop separation.  “Learn the unforced rhythms of grace.”  Aah!  These slay me.  Unforced rhythm.  A dance between two who know exactly what they’re doing.  Nothing forced.  Nothing chaotic.  Unforced and rhythmic.  “You’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”  Beautiful…

Currently praying for:

What God has for us with the bedroom that lays empty in our home.  Besides the Christmas decorations piled in the closet we just have this extra space.  We’re not sure why or what to do with it but we do know that God has a plan.  We’re seeking Him in it, laying it before Him and allowing Him to move with it as He sees fit.  Amen.

Currently dreaming of:

Barbecues and sangria.  Camp fires complete with marshmellows and chocolate.  Long walks along windy roads while kids bike along after us.  Afternoons spent by a pool.  In a word, summer.

If you have a blog and have done a post on what you’re into lately,  please share the link in the comments!

Leave a Reply

