Make and Give { DIY natural room freshener }

_MG_2663

I’m lucky enough to have some of the most generous friends on the planet.  They’re thoughtful and know my love of gifts and basically get that the best thing ever is to arrive home to a little something on your doorstep.  Seriously.  Best. Ever.

What I’ve learned through my friends is that it doesn’t have to be a lot.  It’s so much more a token to say I was thinking about you today or I just knew you’d love this or even a little note that will make you laugh until you cry.

Generosity is something I think we all love being on the receiving end of, no?  But are we generous in spirit ourselves?

I know I fall into the trap of thinking that someone might think it’s dumb or they might not like something as much as I do or even that I don’t really have the budget to be giving, giving, giving.  But I think all of that is just nonsense muddling up my brain!  I have NEVER in my entire life arrived home to something on my doorstep and thought it was dumb, or beneath me, or wished that person had maybe spent just a little more time or money on whatever they left.  NEVER!

Everytime it happens I smile a huge smile and make a mad dash for it because I’m so excited to see what it is and who it’s from.  I love every note and gift and lent book and card drawn and homemade treat I’ve ever received.

I think the world needs more of it.

Wouldn’t you like to arrive home to a little something on your doorstep tonight?  Or left on the windshield of your car while you’re at work?

That’s what I thought.  Which means, so would everyone else!

So let’s start doing it, people!  Show people that we’re thinking of them in little tangible ways.  Your neighbour, your co-worker, your friend.  Leave it anonymously or write your name all over the thing to get full credit but let’s be a generous people.  Givers.  Doers.  People who show they love and show they care.

Heard enough?  Too bad.

I’ve decided that I’m going to give you some ideas on here every now and then so that you can make a little inexpensive something.  You’ll love them for your house and that means that someone else will to.  So the deal is, you may NOT make just one.  Capiche?    I’m trusting you on this one, people.  That’s what the internet is for, right?  A boat load of trust.

So if you make one of these little dealies, pinkie swear with me that you’ll make at least 2.  One for you and one to give away.  Remember you pinkie swore!

DIY Room Freshener

You all know I have teenage and preteen boys, right?  So, I’m sure you can appreciate that air fresheners are a must in our home.  Like, in every room.  Most of the time I’m diffusing essential oils and that covers half of the house but their bedrooms in the morning….heaven help us all.  It’s not their fault.  They’re adolescent boys.  I don’t blame them.  But I will certainly DO something about it.

Given our life philosophy of living as naturally as possible and as chemically free as we can at this time, I set out in search of room fresheners that wouldn’t mean we were inhaling toxins.  Febreeze isn’t allowed to live here.  Air Wick bathroom sprays are not welcome, either.  I found a decent alternative at The Body Shop but it’s pricey and you still had to spray it to have effect which meant when I entered their boy caves to wake them in the morning I was still hit with a wall of nastiness.  Boy sleep smell.  I mean, I’m sure you’r boys are all peaches and lavendar when they sleep but mine, not so much.

I found this DIY air freshener idea and knew it was simple enough for me to actually make.  Let’s just say crafty is not my forte.

IMG_2657

Here’s what you need:

  • jar with screw top lid
  • baking soda
  • essential oils
  • small piece of fabric or burlap
  • paint (if you want to cute it up)

First thing you want to do is paint the rim of the lid.  I tried with some craft paint and a brush but it ended up a bit globby.  I’m sure you’re more skilled at this than I am but after one try with the brush I resorted to what this girl knows best.  Spray paint.  Give your lid a light spray of your favourite cheery colour.  I did two coats.

While you’re waiting for that to dry, scoop some baking soda into your jar and drop in your favourite essential oils.  I made 3 combinations.  Orange Cinnamon, Rice flower and Shea, and Rosemary Lavendar.  Start with about 10-15 drops and then adjust depending on how strong you want it to be.  I’m sort of a super smeller so I didn’t need a lot before I thought it was strong enough.

Give it a stir to mix the oils all the way through the soda.

Next, cut a piece of burlap or fabric into a circle the size of the snap portion of the lid.  I used burlap because I had it lying around.  You could even use pretty paper if you happen to have been a scrap booker in a former life and have some of that lying around.

_MG_2665

When your lid is dry, place burlap inside and screw the lid onto the jar.  I went a little bit further because I have a crush on twine and a love affair with labels.  You don’t have to.  Simply place your jar in a room and let it works its magic.  If you find that it’s not smelling so much after a few days, give the jar a little shake and it’ll be good to go again!

_MG_2666

You can also sprinkle a bit onto your carpets and leave it for about half an hour before vacuuming it up.  I did that yesterday and my house smells divine!

Okay, gather your materials and go!  Don’t forget to leave one on someone’s doorstep.  One of mine may end up on yours!

3 thoughts on “Make and Give { DIY natural room freshener }

Leave a Reply

