My Everyday {original art}

_MG_2634
Tinfoil sculpture (?!)

We made a decision many moons ago that I’m so happy that we’ve stuck to.  We decided early on in our married life that we wanted the walls of our home to be one of two things, they could either be bare and we’d be okay with that or they would be adorned with original art.


_MG_2638

I'm a lover of photography and these two pieces are some of my faves.
I’m a lover of photography and these two pieces are some of my faves.

I’m pretty sure there hasn’t been a time when at least one of us isn’t working in the arts.  We love being surrounded by creative people who passionately use their minds and hands to make things.  We both thrive on tangible expressions of our artistic selves and find we get a little grumpy when we’re not engaged in something creative.

_MG_2646
An early paint-sketch by the always intriguing Janet Bright.

We’ve also both struggled as artists.  Doing things that people didn’t love or figuring out how we’re going to eat and still do what we love.  We’ve been surrounded by many people in the same situation.  People who are doing amazing things, creative things, taking risks and putting their all into projects only to have it be stored in a garage unnoticed.

An art school piece by my hubs.  We both chose one piece of each others art to hang in our home.  We would never on our own choose to hang something we created but both love what the other has done! That's love!
An art school piece by my hubs. We both chose one piece of each others art to hang in our home. We would never on our own choose to hang something we created but both love what the other has done! That’s love!

It’s because of this that we made the decision that we wanted to support artists and not IKEA or mass produced print companies.  We wanted our home to be a reflection of this.  While the large print from a discount store might be less costly and more in line with your colour schemes, you simply can not replace what a canvas with paint that a working mind and hands created with a purpose, with an idea, with an agenda, even.  It changes your walls in a way that we love and we wouldn’t have it any other way!

_MG_2644
Sketch by Royden Lepp (incidentally, our boys FAVE comic book artist. If you have a son, go buy him the Rust books ASAP!)

So, we have many empty walls and that’s okay.  We also have beautiful pieces that tell a story  on others.  It’s also taken nearly 20 years to collect these few pieces that we have.

Photography on Metal by Brandon Thiessen
Photography on Metal by Brandon Thiessen

We love to know that we support artists.  Real artists.  People who bought their groceries because we bought their piece.  People who can continue doing what they love because we support them instead of trying to copy what they do ourselves.

We also love that we have insanely passionate and creative friends who have contributed to our collection.

We love it and we won’t ever change it.

 

**I’m a believer in living with intention.  So my ways are only my ways because I believe in them and I desire to live out what I believe.  I never want to project that my ways are the only ways when it comes to matters of preference.  I love to hear why you do what you do because it let’s me know what’s important to you.  This is just a piece of what’s important to me. 

Leave a Reply

