My Everyday

We all have things that we do each day that we don’t even think about.  Each morning my alarm goes off and I know the general direction for my day because I’m a person who thrives on order.  Of course, I think that the things that I do each day are totally normal and pretty much like how everyone else does it.  Turns out, that’s just not the case!  Mine normal is not my next door neighbours normal, nor my friends normal, and is most definitely not normal if you hit another country or continent.

So I thought it would be fun to share a few of my every day normals and I’d love to have you join along.  If you have a blog and want to do a “My Everyday” post please leave a link in the comments so we can all see each others different normals!  I love that – different normals!  If you’re not a blogger you can just leave a comment about whether you do it similar to me or very very different and what that looks like!

I love learning and growing and seeing how people around me do things.  I think we can learn so much from each other and it’s one of the reasons I love reading blogs and blogging.  We can see others lives and learn or debate or disagree or make changes based on what we read.

So my first, “My Everyday” theme is What I Consume First in the Morning!

I’ve had a few people ask me for this recipe so I figured it would be a good place to start.

I’m not someone who loves eating in the morning. Breakfast is for sure my hardest meal even though, I know I know, it’s the most important.  I just never feel like putting food in my body until around 10 am.  I know this isn’t good for me though and so I’ve found a way that works for me to get nourishment into my body without having to chew!  Win and win!

What do I consume first in the morning?  Green Juice!

I originally found the recipe for Green Juice in Gwyneth Paltrow’s cookbook “It’s All Good”.  She does a version of it by juicing all the ingredients but I’m not a huge fan of juicing.  (too much waste, loss of key ingredients in food like fiber etc making it not as filling)

So, I tweaked it a bit and I simply blend all of the ingredients so you get the full benefit of each ingredient but in liquid form.  This green juice is like fuel in a glass and gives you an energy shot better than any cup of coffee.  Two weeks after I started drinking it I noticed a huge lift in my energy throughout the whole day and a general better feeling.  I like starting the day like this because I know that if I happen to have a cinnamon bun for lunch or some other treat throughout the day, I’ve already started the day well so it’s okay, right?!

Onto the recipe!

Here’s what you need:

_MG_2611

A few kale leaves, half a lemon, a handful of mint leaves, fresh ginger and an apple.  Oh, and a blender!

_MG_2616

First, break off the leafy portion of your kale.  I usually use the leaves off of about 3 stalks.  Throw it in the blender.

(kale is high in iron, which I was always low on before starting this, plus Vitamin A, C and K!)

_MG_2620

Then squeeze in the juice of half of a lemon.  I just squeeze by hand but I think one of those things that you twist the lemon on would be helpful.  I just don’t have one.  (hint, hint)

(Lemons stimulate your digestive tract and aids digestion so it’s perfect in the morning!)

_MG_2621

Throw in a handful of mint leaves.  I like a lot of mint but you can adjust to your taste.  I had to buy this because my poor little plant couldn’t keep up.  I can’t wait until summer though because I can plant more outside and hopefully not have to buy it anymore!

(Mint is high in Vitamin C plus contains many minerals including magnesium, copper, iron, potassium, and calcium.)

I forgot to take a picture of the ginger.  Peel fresh ginger and finely grate it.  About a teaspoon full will do and pop it into the blender.

(Ginger improves the absorption of nutrients in the body, is an anti-inflammatory and helps with digestion aka gas!)

_MG_2622

Choose a delicious apple and rough chop it up and fire it in with your other ingredients.

(Apples are high in Vitamin C and calcium, antioxidants and fibre!)

_MG_2627

Add about a half a cup of water and pulse your blender a few times to begin mixing the ingredients.  After they’re somewhat stirred just blend, blend, blend!  I blend mine for about 2-3 minutes because I don’t like it chunky and I don’t have an especially awesome blender.

_MG_2629

The final product looks something like this.  I chug it down every single morning.  Each morning I can’t wait for it, I love it so much.  It’s a perfect start to my day and gives me way more of what I need than coffee can!

So – what’s the first thing you consume each morning?  

2 thoughts on “My Everyday

  1. I’m going to have to try your recipe!
    My first food of the morning is coffee, but with an unusual twist. I have mine with coconut oil in it! I can’t do dairy, and had been consuming coconut oil in my smoothies, and read that putting it into coffee and frothing would help to metaboize the caffeine better and give you long-lasting energy without the usual caffeine crash.
    It totally works. If I have a cup of coffee without oil, I get headaches and feel generally awful. With my coffee and tablespoon of coconut oil I have a latte-like coffee and energy that lasts all day! I don’t even need my usual afternoon nap most days, though I do enjoy one on occasion 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

