You should try this.

I sometimes wonder how one can make it 36 years in the world and still never have heard of some of the  delicious things this land has to offer.  Last week it happened with Pavlova.  Seriously, you guys?  36 years and I’d never had Pavlova.  I wake up one morning, see this recipe, whip it up and we all decide it’s our new  Christmas Eve dessert.

And now it’s happened again.  This time with this beauty.

_MG_2505

Isn’t she pretty?

What is she, you ask?  Aguas Frescas, which is spanish for ‘fresh waters’.    Apparently it’s an extremely popular drink in Mexico and Central America and it’s basically variations of fruit, herbs, seeds, etc. combined into water.  The possibilities are endless, really, though I was first introduced to it with this flavour combination and it’s won my heart.  So much so that I’m thinking of buying one of those friendship necklaces and hanging one half around my glass while I wear the other.  We’re besties for life!

Wanna make some?  (you know you do…)

Here’s how:

Grab some of these babies.  I’m lucky and mine came fresh from the garden but if you have to get them at the grocery store we won’t judge.

_MG_2479

Peel them and cut them up into chunky pieces. You’ll need about 2 1/2 cups.   If they’re much bigger than this you may want to remove the seeds but these are such babies, with baby seeds, that I didn’t even notice them.  Plunk ’em on into your blender.

Next add about a cup of ice cubes and 2 cups of water.  Mouth watering yet?  Just you wait….

_MG_2512

You’ll need about 1/3 of a cup of lime juice.  You can squeeze it straight from the lime if you’ve got some tension you need to get out, or you can simply buy that bottled stuff.  Either is good as long as it tastes fresh and limey.

Then go to your garden, your herb box, your neighbours garden….whatever (!) and pick a great big handful of mint leaves.  I cut 3 stems  each about six inches long and plucked every last leaf off.  I do love me some mint.  Add into your cucumber, ice, water, lime juice concoction.

_MG_2515I know it seems like such a healthy drink but I like to sweeten it up just a dash.  I used just less than a quarter of a cup of raw sugar.  You can use more or less depending on your taste buds sweet tooth.

Once you’ve got everything in just blend, blend, blend, blend, blend!

Then pour in a jar and savour the refreshing summer vibe it gives.

_MG_2504

_MG_2507You can keep it in the fridge for a few days but mine never lasts that long.  If you can let it sit overnight the mint flavours come out even stronger and more delicious.  But again, doesn’t last that long around here!

What about you?  Have you ever heard of Aguas Frescas?  What kind is your favourite?

Leave a Reply

