Why Pay Someone Else {DIY Granola}

If you’ve been visiting this blog for any length of time you’ll already know that my husband likes to call me a hippie and I like to threaten that I’m going to stop shaving my legs, right back!

He may be right.  If he means that I like to eat food that’s actually food and not something that was created in a lab.  Secondly, he may be right if he means that I don’t like paying someone else for things that I can do myself.  Especially when those things are really easy!

Our family has been eating gluten free for 10 months now and we’ve learned a lot along the way.  The biggest thing?  If it says “Gluten Free” on the label it probably costs double the amount.

I was appalled the other day when I purchased a $10 bag of cereal that only had 3 ingredients!  Well, appalled and thrilled!  Because cereal really should only have 3 ingredients (and those should be ones you can pronounce!) but also that I was paying a small fortune for 3 ingredients.  3 ingredients that I have in my kitchen, no less!

So I set out determined to change this.  To stop paying ridiculous amounts for things that we shouldn’t be and start making it ourselves.

I haven’t quite gone for the cereal yet but my segue into it was to try granola.  Of course, my new cookbook had a recipe in it so it was a natural place to start.  You guys – stop buying granola!  It takes less than half an hour to make and 25 of those minutes are cooking time.  Plus mine has no sugar, no preservatives and I can make it taste exactly as I want.

Wanna know how?  I thought you might…

Assemble some basic ingredients:  _MG_2370For the base you’ll need extra virgin olive oil, maple syrup, quinoa flakes and sea salt.  I was so happy to find a recipe that wasn’t based solely around oats because gluten free ones are expensive.  Quinoa flakes are cheaper, naturally gluten free, and better for you!

_MG_2377Mix together 1/2 cup of extra virgin olive oil with 1/2 cup good quality maple syrup.  (Or the one from Costco.  That’s as good quality as I come, baby!)  Add  3 cups of quinoa flakes and stir until it’s all combined.  Or until your arm is sore.  Whichever comes first.

_MG_2376Once its mixed well, spread the quinoa mixture evenly on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.  Grind just a sprinkle of sea salt over the entire thing and pop it into a 400 degree oven for 25 minutes or until the flakes are dried and a lovely golden colour.

_MG_2378

Let the quinoa mixture cool completely, and in the meantime start chopping the other things you want to add to your granola.  This is where you decide what you want it to taste like!

_MG_2380I chopped up dried prunes and figs to add some natural sweetness.  I added flax seeds, sesame seeds, sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds.  I added, and this is the best addition of all, coconut!  Mmmmmmm.

Once the quinoa has cooled completely, crumble it up into a glass jar, add whatever you love into it, mix it up and get ready to be amazed!

_MG_2384Best granola I’ve ever had.  No added sugar, no preservatives and everything I love!  You can store the contents in a sealed jar for up to two weeks!  I found that in 2 weeks, mine was gone and I had a few requests for another batch.  Okay, okay, twist my arm….

One thought on “Why Pay Someone Else {DIY Granola}

Leave a Reply

