Around the Web

It’s spring break around these parts (hallelujah!) which I’m quite certain means that my posts will be rolling in sometime closer to 10 am than their usual 6 am.  I know I could preschedule them and all that but I feel like the lax days should be reflected here too!

As I read various things around the web I’m constantly amazed at the calibre of thought and writing that is abounding online.  We have a truly incredible resource in this here internet!  Of course, I’m almost just as constantly amazed at how much time wasting and ridiculousness abounds on here as well.  Microcosm of society, shall we say?

Anyways, as usual I’ve got some of my favourite reads from the past week or so to share.  Grab your coffee and dive in.  You won’t be disappointed!

I’ve followed Sarah Bessey’s blog for a few years now.  Sometimes it delights me and other times it has me debating her in my head but no matter which happens it makes me think.   Her post this week “In which God does not want to use me” really struck something.  I’ve read it at least 7 times and plan to read it a few more.  Here’s a blurb:

 

“We say things like: “oh,  I just want to be used by God!” We sing songs: “use me, Jesus!” and we mean so well. When we say “used by God” we mean that we want our lives to count for something bigger than ourselves. Perhaps it’s because we have bought into the evangelical hero complex, and now we think God wants big, God wants important, God wants power and famous celebrities and cable television, God has big, important work to do in the world, so it’s time to do our part.”

A friend shared this lovely bit on facebook and I’m so glad she did.  Mama’s: read this!

These Are the Lines of a Story by Mary Martin Wiens

“We journey from a seed in our mother’s womb until we are planted in the grave with ever-changing bodies. Time scratches out its passage across my looks and the looks of all those I love. All our lives, our bodies manifest evidence of an existence marked by gains and losses. We gain and lose pounds, muscle, bruises, teeth, and hair. We lose elasticity and gain wrinkles. We gain scars. Our bodies process and carry our experiences, not without complaint, but with an unfailing perseverance that is worthy of both gratitude and honor.”

Kristen over at Rage Against the Minivan had me yelling out, “Amen!” to her post this week.  I don’t know if it’s the internet or pinterest or just our one up ’em personalities but something has got to stop (!!!)  with all the ridiculous, over the top, celebrating of holidays.

Let’s Bring the Holidays Down a Notch  by Kristen Howerton

“And in my overly-tired impatient state, I might have yelled back, “YOU’RE RIGHT. This IS a lame holiday. It was never my favorite. All we did was wear green. That’s all we’re doing today. I’m sorry if you do more at school. That’s not what we do here. I don’t know where you are hearing this stuff but it’s not happening here.”

And lastly, my hair is finally getting longer and I love trying different things out with it.  Thankfully A Beautiful Mess put together an amazing collection of hair tutorials.  Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!

And a Happy Monday to all you you!

Leave a Reply

