Dehydration.

My mouth is dry and my head throbs just a little and I know that there’s just one thing that can bring relief.

Water.

I take it in and I take it in and I take it in and yet I constantly need more.  Day after day after day my body yearns for the hydration it needs.

I thirst.

The body is a swiftly functioning machine.  Our very make-up consisting so much of just water.  We take it in and yet we can’t store it.  We can’t hold onto it for the future.  No, we sweat it out of our very pores and we cry it out of our eyes until,

we’re empty.

And when I find myself in this place of empty, this place of feeling parched in the wilderness, I don’t always remember what I need.  What my tongue longs for.  My body aches for.

No, it’s not until the aches set in and the throb in my head takes over and I feel at my end and I cry out, “What is going on?” It’s only then that I realize I’ve expelled all that I had taken in and I need replenishing.  My very veins yearn for it.  To be quenched.

It is only upon the drinking that I am satisfied.  I can not will my body satisfied or reason with my tongue to feel a reprieve or revive my veins with logic.

I must drink.

My soul is dry and my mind is tired and my heart yearns and I know that there is only one thing that can bring relief.

“If you knew the gift of God, and who it is that is saying to you, ‘Give me a drink,’ you would have asked him, and he would have given you living water.”  (John 4:10)

I take it in this living water.  I take it in through the reading of his word and I take it in through the preaching of His word and I take it in through song and through the beauty of this world and through prayers offered up.  I take it in through quiet and through seeking and through asking his will to be done.  Day after day my soul yearns for the hydration it needs.  To be filled with living water.

“As the deer pants for flowing streams, so pants my soul for you, oh God.” (Psalm 42:1)

Our hearts and minds are so delicate.  Sure they may be calloused by this world but underneath the layers they are delicate flesh that needs continual communion with our Saviour.  We can breathe Him in, weave his very truths into our minds and bathe our hearts in the riches of his love and yet we can not store Him up.  No, because if we’re pouring him out of our lives, giving of ourselves and our time and our possessions and all that we have is lived in honour and service to him that came not to be served but to serve, well, then.  Well, then.  If we are constantly breathing him out of our very being yet not constantly drinking Him in then we will only be,

Empty.

And we find ourselves in the desert.  Wandering in the wilderness.  Shaking our fists and asking if Mana is all that He has for us.  Are we not worth more than this dry bread?  And when we find ourselves in this place, this dark night of the soul we don’t always remember what we need.  What our soul is aching for.

“For my people have committed two evils: they have forsaken me, the fountain of living waters, and hewed out cisterns for themselves, broken cisterns that can hold no water.”  (Jeremiah 2:13)

No, it’s not until we’re angry or upset or at our very end hurling questions at God or worse, accusations of, “How dare you!” that we realize that we’re at our end.  Our very human end.  We’ve been running on our own ability having faith in no one but ourselves.  It is here, at this end, that we recognize that we’re thirsty.  Our whole selves are yearning for only one thing.  To drink from the fountain.

“The woman said to Him, “Sir, you have nothing to draw water with, and the well is deep.  Where do you get that living water?”  (John 4:11)

It is only upon the drinking of the living water that I am satisfied.  I can not will my body satisfied without it or reason my heart to feel a reprieve or revive my soul with logic.

“For the Lamb in the midst of the throne will be their shepherd, and he will guide them to springs of living water, and God will wipe away every tear from their eyes.”  (revelation 7:17)

“Abide in me, and I in you.  As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me.”  (John 15:4)

I must drink.

Leave a Reply

