Memory Jar {DIY}

_MG_2073

Time flies, doesn’t it?  We get to the end of a year and I can’t fathom that 365 days have gone by, let alone remember the highs and lows of them!  Seriously, I’m lucky if I can remember what I did this morning, let alone last January!

So this year I decided that we would make a memory jar to record some things that we deem worthy of remembering.

What you’ll need:

A jar

Paper

Pen

That’s it!  Easy Peasy, huh?  I prettied mine up a bit in the way I pretty every single thing up these days, with yarn and a mailing tag.  But you don’t have to.  Any empty jar is just fine!  So eat that spagetti sauce in the cupboard or, if you’re like me and enjoy perusing second hand stores, they usually have a great selection.  I found this large size one for 30 cents.   Totally doable, even on a budget!

The idea is to allow each member of the family to add to the jar.  We’ve chosen a whatever and whenever rule, which I guess is to say we really don’t have any rules!  Other than we don’t tell what we’ve put in.  We like a bit of secrecy ’round these parts!  (Really, it’s the only power any of us have so we ARE going to use it.  I know!  You don’t!  Take that!)

There are 5 or 6 notes in our jar already in just this month of January!  I can’t wait ’til we get to December and it’s right packed full!  We’ve decided that we’ll read the notes in our jar on January 1st, 2014.  I already have visions of  feeling like it’s Christmas morning all over again.  Minus the presents.  Which really makes it nothing like Christmas at all but if you could see into my mind you’d see us snuggled up on the couch in jammy’s, coffees and hot chocolates in hand, each of us anticipating what each note will say as we take turns reading them aloud and remembering the year that we’ve had.  The way we’ve been blessed, things we are so thankful for, some low points that we can realize we’ve made it through and some things so funny that the hot chocolate might just come right out of the littles noses when I read it!

Can’t wait!

2 thoughts on “Memory Jar {DIY}

Leave a Reply

