Chalkboard Renovation {DIY}

‘Member last week when I mentioned that we were praying for various unreached people groups?  Well, it turns out the littles had a hard time remembering the names of the tribes and while I contended that God knew what they meant, they still wanted to get it right.

My husband requested a chalkboard for their room.  Um, okay!  Don’t have to ask me twice!  I have a little obsession with chalkboard paint in that I want to use it everywhere!  And I love having little chalkboards around the house to leave notes on for the kids or for memory verses or just about anything!  I envision a giant one in my kitchen one day with the weeks menu plan on it.  Wouldn’t that be great?

Anyways, I love a good mission and I set out the next day to find something that I could turn into a chalkboard. Only 2 thrift stores later I had found an actual old-school chalk board!  Like with the little tray at the bottom to hold the chalk!  Score!!

The downfall?  It looked like this:

_MG_2001

_MG_2003

Yeah.  Not exactly pretty.  In fact, it was really really icky!  Stained and scratched and a chalk board that definitely couldn’t be written on anymore.  But I knew I could fix all of that!

Enter paint.

_MG_2004I wanted to keep a bit of the old-style look so I first did a few coats of CIL’s aqualine paint.  The great thing about this is you can buy it in little tester sizes for around $3.00.  Once those coats were dry I went over top with a lot of layers of a Benjamin Moore favourite, Cloud White.

Screen Shot 2013-01-21 at 7.12.26 PM

Once the edges were good and dry (at least 24 hours) I went over that nasty green chalk surface with some good old black chalk board paint.  I was going to repaint it the green colour but my mom reminded me that before chalkboards were green, they were black!  And I like the black so much better so I went with that.  Thanks, Mom!

I scuffed up the edges with a rough sandpaper just to get a bit of the green to show through the white and…

Project done!

_MG_2008

_MG_2014

Of course as quickly as they went on my words came off and his went on:

_MG_2022And eventually we got to using it for its intended purpose!

_MG_2027

2 thoughts on “Chalkboard Renovation {DIY}

Leave a Reply

