Scripture Advent Calendar {redo} + Advent Resources

Remember how I showed you my Scripture Advent Tree thingie?  And remember how I told you that I wanted to change it up at little bit because I had put it together so quickly last year?  Well, it turns out that spray painting a plastic branch didn’t really work.  Who knew?

So I had to think fast as Advent was already upon us and I had all of my little envelopes ready to go but now had nowhere to put them.

Inspired by a friends instagram photo of her calendar that she had strung in an old window frame on the wall I remembered my huge frame that’s been propped in the corner of my room with nothing in it for almost a year now.  Score!

So I got out my craft kit (read:  a basket with duct tape, scissors and twine.  I’m fancy like that.) and I set to work.  In about half an hour this is what had come of it.

IMG_1820

IMG_1832

IMG_1824

Super simple.  Super easy for the kids to get the little envelopes on and off.  Super ready for cosy nights of reading scripture together snuggled in our bed.

I found a new advent series of scripture to read which I’m super excited about.  I think it will be perfect for the age of our boys.  If you’re looking for something challenging for a little bit older kids check it out.  This is the one we’re doing with our family

And finally, some links that I really appreciated this week on Advent from around the blog-o-sphere.

Advent is Slow – On Purpose – from Desiring God

Who has time to celebrate Advent? That’s my initial thought each year.

But that’s the point. Advent takes time. It cannot be microwaved, it cannot be compressed into 24 hours, and it cannot be sped up to the bustling speed of our daily lives. Advent is slow on purpose, because the slowness of the celebration mirrors the slowly unfolding drama of the Advent of the Savior himself in history.

Advent Devotionals – from the Village Church

Our Advent guide serves as an introduction to the Advent season to awaken the angst of waiting, longing and yearning for Christ. The hope is to feel the ancient angst of Israel and allow that to inform our own anticipation. 

In Which We Get This Part of the Incarnation – Sarah Bessey

The divinity of God is on display at Christmas in beautiful creche scenes. We sing songs of babies who don’t cry. We mistake quiet for peace. A properly antiseptic and church-y view of birth, arranged as high art to convey the seriousness and sacredness of the incarnation.  It is as though the truth of birth is too secular for Emmanuel, it doesn’t look too holy in its real state.

The Christmas Conundrum – Jen Hatmaker

What happened to Christmas? What on earth happened to it? When did it transform from something simple and beautiful to what it is now? How insiduously did the enemy work to slowly hijack Jesus’ birth and hand it over on a silver platter to Big Marketing, tricking His own followers into financing the confiscation? 

One thought on “Scripture Advent Calendar {redo} + Advent Resources

  1. Pingback: Never Static

Leave a Reply

