Children’s Christmas Books

We are a book loving family, as I’m sure you know by now.  But I have a hard time buying a lot of seasonal books.  Simply because they’re….well, seasonal!

But we do have a few favourites that I thought I’d share and I’d love to hear if you have favourites too.  I think we need to beef up our meagre repertoire just a bit.

So without further ado, some Fast Boys Christmas Faves.

The Tale of Three Trees is our very most favourite.  As a child, this book was read every Christmas Eve as part of the church service we attended.  I loved hearing it every.single.year.  I was then especially excited when my aunt found a copy for me and gave it to me one year for my birthday.  My boys now read it all through the year but especially at Christmas.  A blurb from the back of it,

“Once upon a mountaintop, three trees stood and dreamed of what they wanted to become when they grew up. Each of their dreams come true in the most unexpected of ways.”

Another favourite is The Little Donkey.  A quote about this one,

“A humble donkey hears of the new King’s birth and journeys to Bethlehem. Along the way, he struggles through brambles, is sneered at by a camel, disdained by a lion, and laughed at by the other animals. The little donkey feels so worthless that he begins to stumble until a great light guides him to his destination, where the baby reaches out his hand. . . . This story stresses that Jesus welcomes even the most lowly, and Watts’ watercolors overlaid with crayon-like texture are appealing and rustic”.–“School Library Journal”.

Mooseltoe is a silly story about a moose who gets a bit too caught up in the hurry and hustle and bustle.  One look at the cover tells you a bit about how this turns out for him.

And that is literally it.  That’s it.  So you see why I need your help!  I saw that Scaredy Squirrel has a Christmas book out so I want to pick that up as I have a little scaredy squirrel myself and he relates well to these books.  I’ve been hearing a lot about Pete the Cat but have yet to read him and there’s a Christmas book out starring him as well.  But other than that I’m at a loss.

Help?!

One thought on “Children’s Christmas Books

  1. I did a blog post today with 4 of my children’s favorites for the Christmas season and I have since been doing a google blog search on “Christmas Children’s Books”. My top recommendation is “The Christmas Miracle of Jonathan Toomey” by Susan Wojciechowski. She conveys the true meaning of Christmas in a sensitive and spiritual way. Thanks for the post and happy reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

