What I Want.

I was inspired by this post from Jen loves Kev last week and I just can’t seem to get it out of my head.  It inspired me to think, we set goals for everything in our lives from fitness to work to whatever else there is that we do, and yet I’ve never really set goals for myself in parenting.  Our major goal was that I would be able to stay home with our babies until they were all school age and thankfully that one was accomplished!

But I’ve never written any goals down.   Jen did on her post and it was beautiful and brilliant.  Her #6 hit me the most.  gulp.

So, here are mine, in no particular order.

1.  I want my boys to feel loved and safe at all times.

2.  I want to be rational parents willing to discuss whatever comes our boys way without flying off the handle or overreacting.

3.  I want to be structured enough that they can thrive in routine and spontaneous enough to be fun.

4.  I want them to know the love that we have for God and learn that through us.

5.  I want our  home to be a place that they want to bring their friends. (no matter how old they are!)

6.  I want them to know that  sometimes all you need is a good book.

7.  I want to encourage imagination and creativity even as they get older and not squelch it for ‘reality’.

8.  I want them to know that though we have high standards for them we only want them to be the best “them” they can be.  No comparing.  No judging by others standards.  Just be who God made them to be.

9.  I want them to be well-adjusted members of society who can engage and contribute.

10.  I want them to learn to have generous hearts.

11.  I want them to be polite and respectful to all people knowing that each was made in the image and likeness of God.

12.  I want them to be a good friend.

13.  I don’t want them to remember me as being too busy.  To talk.  To play.  To – whatever!

14.  I want them to know that we aren’t perfect.  We make mistakes just like they do and that’s why even as parents we have to say we’re sorry.

15.  I want them to know that there is a big, wide world out there just waiting for them to explore!

16.  I want them to learn to laugh at themselves and to make others laugh.  Silliness is a virtue in our home.

What are your goals in parenting?  Have you ever written them down?

Leave a Reply

