A few randoms combined to make a long story longer.

Random #1:

It started, not out of a grand moral decision, but because we were too dirt poor to afford it!  Cable, that is.  There came a point in our life when we just had to let it go.  It was an easy $50-$100 / month that we needed in hand and not going out to another bill.

We really came to like not having it.  (When I say we, I mean me.)  Okay, not really.  We all didn’t really mind except come hockey season when hubs had to try and watch games online which back then wasn’t as slick as it may be these days.

So all of this to say for over 10 years we’ve not had cable, nor missed it at all.  Our kids grew up not even knowing that you could turn on a tv and flick channels.  Watching was deliberate, carefully selected, and in the form of dvd’s.

Then came Netflix!  Not gonna lie, it’s not all it’s cracked up to be here in Canada (you Americans have no idea and can scoff.  It’s pretty sub-par here).  But what it HAS done for me, considering they never update anything good, is turned my love for documentaries into more of an addiction.

This past weekend I watched 2 and while I take them fairly loosely as someone’s agenda pushing, there is still always truth to be taken in some form.

This weekends truth came in two parts.  Because I’m long-winded I will tackle only one here. (for now)

1)  We create too much waste.

So I already knew this but this particular documentary inspired something in me to take it to the next level.  It also held an appeal in the form of, we can’t all do everything all at once, so do something that works for you!  Okay!  I can do that!

Random #2:

Monday is my grocery shopping day.  I didn’t need a lot this week, just fresh produce and a few staples we’d run out of.  No meat or major purchases at all.  Grand total?   $137.46

Kill me now.

Okay, so I have 3 growing and very active boys, plus one husband, a dog and 2 fish.  I have one child that is gluten and dairy free which means special food purchases.  (might I add EXPENSIVE special food purchases) And then there’s me.  I could live off of rice, smoothies and sour patch kids.  Not sayin’ I’d be healthy – I’m just not a huge foodie.

I came home to put away the 4 things that $137 got me.  (I kid)  And as I did I went through the fridge.  Rotting quarter of a cabbage?  Chuck.  Less than 40 grams of roast chicken plus one spoonful of rice in huge tupperware?  Chuck.  Bread bag with only the crusts in it shoved somewhere in the back from who knows when?  Chuck.  Rotting kiwis?  Chuck.

I was appalled, as I always am when tossing food, at the amount of money that was spent on this stuff only for it to be tossed away.

Not Random point that makes this story even worth caring about:

On a greater level than just the money spent on this stuff, I was appalled at myself.  Sure, we live in the first world where food is abundant.  Sure, I have no concern of starving and I like my grapes crisp and juicy, not squishy.  But, how on earth did we get to the place of thinking that the money God has entrusted us with, provided by the jobs that He has provided for us, should be spent on things that we’re going to throw in the garbage?

Nevermind the fact that in the economy we’re currently in their are many MANY people who would gladly take our jobs or even those bread crusts!

I was ashamed of us.  Of myself.  For taking so much for granted.  I was ashamed at our lack of thankfulness for the abundance that we have.  I was ashamed at how we’ve been handling this abundance. We’ve somehow slipped into the mentality of, “I work hard!  I deserve the middle good piece of bread.  Not the crusts!  Toss those and open a new loaf!”  It was only 4 short years ago that those crusts were eaten thankfully as my husband searched for work.

How did we so quickly lose sight?  How did we so quickly come to the place of thinking we deserve this?

Don’t hear me wrong.  Good food is from God and even holy!  We should eat good food!  But are we thankful for it in the way we should be?  Or are  we eating what we want and moving on before its finished.  Are we so caught up in consuming that  we toss the old (and still perfectly edible) and move on to the new?

I’m humbled to admit we were.

Moral of the story is:

So my goal for this house, for our family, is to reduce food waste by 100%.  Meaning no food waste.  Ever.  I don’t know if we can do it but I don’t want to slap God in the face by tossing what He has provided simply because it’s a bit squishy.

I’m blogging this, not to sound all high and mighty, or to even say that you should do it too.  I’m blogging because it makes me accountable.  Once I’ve put it in writing means that it’s not just me trying my best to muddle my way through, but it means you all know and may just ask me about it!

So here we go.  Zero food waste.  Starting today.

**edited to note:  If you DO decide to join in would you let me know?  That way we can be “in it” together!

 

 

2 thoughts on “A few randoms combined to make a long story longer.

  1. Hey Rhonda, this can be done…Link and I have had little to no food waste in years. I have become really good at making soups and also meal planning…this became a necessity as we are not making enough money to toss stuff out…good luck with it!

    Like

  2. Thank you, Tammie! I know it’s possible, I do. I’m thankful that you and Link have already been doing it. Thank you for being an example. I think meal planning is huge! Also, the dreaded “leftover night.” ha ha

    Like

Leave a Reply

