Clarity and Light

Clarity comes in many forms.  For some it’s early in the morning, others its late at night.  Some may find it through robust dialogue, others through silence.  Some clear spots for me often shine through in the early early morning, while it’s still dark and my family (save for the ridiculously early leaving husband) is all still snug in their beds.  It comes in quiet, alone moments.  As a mom I treasure these two things to start my mornings – quiet and alone.  It’s why my  alarm busts out some owl city for me at 5:30 am each weekday morning.  It means I can start my day with Jesus before the hustle, the bustle and the downright chaos that comes with living with 3 boys a  husband and grandma!  (the last part of that sentence makes me laugh and love my life!)

But today clarity came a bit differently.  It came through dirty windows in the midst of enormous scoops of pancake batter seeping over the edge of the griddler and amidst conversations of freezing the street in front of our home into a giant ice rink.  (yeah, the neighbours LOVE us!)

This morning I read in John 12.  Verse 35 says, “The light is among you for a little while longer.  Walk while you have the light, lest darkness overtake you.  The one who walks in the darkness does not know where he is going.  While you have the light, believe in the light, that you may become sons of light.”

This led me to look up some verses in Ephesians that say, “But when anything is exposed by the light, it becomes visible, for anything that becomes visible is light.”

So there I am in the midst of our morning madness and it becomes clear.  My windows are filthy!  There are food splatters and drippy streaks, there are fingerprints and puppy nose smears.  There is some other gunk that will just choose to call ‘foreign’ and leave it at that.  I tell you this not because I’m proud to have icky windows but because yesterday evening at dinner I didn’t see it.   As I sat at the table I looked into the backyard through the panes and they looked fine to me.  They were in darkness.  In the darkness you cannot see the ick and the filth.  You can look right past it for the darkness overtakes.

But this morning there was light!  There was beautiful gleaming sunlight shining rays of deliciousness into my kitchen.  I looked up  to inhale it’s glow and take a minute to thank Jesus for the light and that’s when I saw my windows.  This is  when it came together.

“But when anything is exposed by the light it becomes visible.”

We cannot see our own sin if we are walking through this world without light.  We can move about in the darkness and not know where we are going.  Sure, we can get caught in the darkness and it may even seem good, for without the light we can’t see.  We can’t see our sin, our filth, our inside ickiness.  We stumble around thinking we’re fine but really we’re not seeing. Just as last night my windows were ‘fine’.

But light!  Add some light to us, let it shine on us, let the word of God permeate through us and soon it exposes.  It shows what was once hidden in the dark.  This can be a scary place, a vulnerable place, a sobering place to let the light show you what you are.  But as we walk in the light, as He is in the light, he refines, scrubs clean, chips away at the foreign objects that don’t belong until we are sparkling glass.  A window that the light shines through.  No longer with muck to hinder the light but a surface clean and bright that he can shine through and spread his light to others with.

I love that Jesus used these words, examples that through the decades we can learn from and that could bring clarity in a dirty kitchen.

Leave a Reply

