Quote {Bonhoeffer}

“Christianity preaches the infinite worth of that which is seemingly worthless and the infinite worthlessness of that which is seemingly so valued.”

I fall, so often, into the trap of thinking that the things of this world are of great importance.  How I look, whether the food we eat is local and organic, if I have time for me.  None of these things are of the utmost value.  They are the things that the world tells us we must do/be/have to be happy and successful.  Jesus, He who is to be most valued and praised, was the greatest servant.  From what I read he wasn’t overly concerned with his appearance (which I surmise by him never stating how great he looked as he turned the tables in the temple), he wasn’t concerned of being seen eating with tax collectors or talking with women and very rarely did he get “alone time” though when he did it was not to be pampered it was to commune with his father in heaven.  Oh, how I wish I could learn these things and have them stick!

Leave a Reply

