Kids and Sport

I’ve been a mom for 11 years now.  In that 11 years I still haven’t come to a conclusion about my children and sports.  Here are the things that I know:

  • They like sports
  • They have some natural ability (obviously from their father)
  • Our weekends are filled with skateboard parks, soccer games and games of catch
  • They get lazy sometimes
  • I don’t know how to help them put all of their hockey gear on
  • They’re on their own when it comes to selecting the right jock (eek!)
Here are some things I am unsure of:
  • If, in the middle of winter at registration time, they say, “I don’t want to play baseball this year.”  Is that reason to keep them out or do I push them to stay in knowing they’ll love it by mid-season.
  • Do I let them try a new sport each time something strikes their fancy making them well-rounded individuals or do I guide them to stick with one thing and excel at it.
  • How does one mother get 3 different children to sporting events all on the same night.
  • Why a game that seemingly just requires a pair of cleats can cost so much
I’m fickle on all of the above.  Sometimes I push for sticking with things and other seasons I encourage them to try something new.  I sometimes think they should take a break while other times I lead them to keep going for it.  I often wonder if I am messing them up completely with my indecisiveness on the topic of sport but I was never in anything like this.  Wait.  That’s not true.  I did one round of skating lessons when I was 11.  Everyone else in the class was 5.  I never went back.
What does your family do in the realm of sport?  I’d love to know…
2 thoughts on “Kids and Sport

  1. We’re kind of lame over here, because I’ve always felt that a sane mother = happy kids. I do realize we’re in the minority, though, and that my kids are no doubt missing out of many wonderful things a constant commitment to sport develops in a person. They do music lessons, swimming and the occasional art class. I’d happily (or perhaps grudgingly would be a little more honest way to phrase things) put them in whatever they wanted, but like me, they feel drawn to other parts of life veering off away more from the realm of sports. I figure as long as they’re fit and healthy and ride bikes and scooters and skateboards and longboards, I’m not overly concerned.

    Like

Leave a Reply

