What I’m Reading: Bonhoeffer

The other day I picked up, what will likely be, my entire summer reading.  It’s a biography on Deitrich Bonhoeffer simply titled Bonhoeffer:  Pastor, Martyr, Prophet, Spy, by Eric Metaxas.

I’ve read two of Bonhoeffer’s books The Cost of Discipleship and Life Together  which I’ve written a bit about here but never really knew much more about who he was, other than an obviously brilliant theologian.

To sum him up, Bonhoeffer was a christian, a theologian, son of a great phychologist, and a spy who was trying to assassinate Hitler.  This book is about his life from childhood to his martyr’s death.

I’ve just begun my journey into this 600+ page book and I am already so fascinated.  I’m sure I’ll be sharing tidbits, insights, quotes, and things I just can’t keep to myself along the way.

From the back of the book:

From the New York Times bestselling author of Amazing Grace, a groundbreaking biography of Dietrich Bonhoeffer, one of the greatest heroes of the twentieth century, the man who stood up to Hitler. A definitive, deeply moving narrative, Bonhoeffer is a story of moral courage in the face of the monstrous evil that was Nazism. After discovering the fire of true faith in a Harlem church, Bonhoeffer returned to Germany and became one of the first to speak out against Hitler. As a double-agent, he joined the plot to assassinate the Fuhrer, and was hanged in Flossenberg concentration camp at age 39. Since his death, Bonhoeffer has grown to be one of the most fascinating, complex figures of the 20th century. Bonhoeffer presents a profoundly orthodox Christian theologian whose faith led him to boldly confront the greatest evil of the 20th century, and uncovers never-before-revealed facts, including the story of his passionate romance.

One thought on “What I’m Reading: Bonhoeffer

Leave a Reply

