I love old hymns

When I was a kid I thought that hymns were slow and incredibly boring.  They seemed to drag on and lack any sort of excitement or punch I thought was needed to worship.

As I matured into my late 20’s I realized how ridiculous I was.  The hymns of old have stood the test of time, not because they  allow you to bop to the latest beats, but because lyrically they are so rich.  More often than not their writers knew things that I can only hope to know.  They seemed to really get what being a follower of Christ meant, or at the very least they admitted when they didn’t.

As I was laying in savasana (dead body pose) today at yoga a hymn came to me.  I should probably explain that I don’t allow the history of yoga to determine my practice.  I don’t believe in emptying my mind as a form of meditation.  Rather, when I am lying in this meditative position I pray.  I meditate on Jesus and on different days this means different things as far as which direction my prayers go.  Today, an hymn came to my mind and I couldn’t help but just repeat the words in my head, dwelling on them as a prayer.

The words were this.  

Come, Holy Spirit, I need you.

Come, Sweet Spirit, I pray.

Come, in your strength and your power.

Come, in your own gentle way.

I haven’t sung this since I was probably 12 years old.  But today, it was laid on my heart and with good reason.  I rarely think about the Holy Spirit.  I think about God and all His majesty.  I think about Jesus and reflect often on what He did for us on the cross.  But I’m missing a huge part of it.

These words were my prayer today.  Jesus said that he would send us a helper, a counsellor, one on whom we can call.  This was the Holy Spirit.  So today my prayer is the refrain of this song with one word resounding loudly over the rest:  Come.

I looked up the rest of the words when I got home as I couldn’t remember them at all.  Each verse will be my prayer for the rest of the week.  A point of meditation.  A place of focus.

The words follow.

Come as a wisdom to children,
Come as new sight to the blind,
Come, Lord, as strength to my weakness,
Take me:soul, body and mind.

Come as a rest to the weary,
Come as a balm for the sore,
Come as a dew to my dryness:
Fill me with joy evermore.

Come like a spring in the desert,
Come to the withered of soul;
O let Your sweet healing power
Touch me and make me whole.

Leave a Reply

