Just Play.

‘Member when you were a kid and you couldn’t for the life of you figure out why your parents wanted to have an afternoon nap?  I thought this to be the biggest time waster in the entire universe.

Or when they were always busy with a task?  Laundry, changing the oil, mowing the lawn or the worst one of all, seeing bills laid out before them and feeling tension in the air.

Or when your mom didn’t order anything when she took you to McDonald’s?  Why on earth would she not want any of this most amazing food?

Just me or did those things make your parents feel like aliens clearly from another planet.  I vowed never to be like that!  I remember thinking to myself as a child and firmly implanting in my brain that I would ALWAYS eat McDonald’s, I would never be doing “things” at the kitchen table instead of playing and naps wouldn’t even be in my vocabulary.

So – things change.  I don’t know what happened along the way but Cheeseburgers served from a kid in a visor became vile, naps became bliss and I find myself putting my children off because, “I just have to….”  you can fill in the blank with any number of menial chores.

But this day we just played.  And moms, I beg you if you haven’t already, take a day this spring break to just play with your kids.  Whatever they want.  It was more rewarding for me than them.  I’m almost certain of it.  And guess what?  The laundry will still be in that heap tomorrow!

We spent a good part of our day constructing and hanging out in here.  It was awesome!

Of course we wouldn’t have been safe without the armed one-eyed frog protecting our cave from terminators.  He may look snuggly but he is a force to be reckoned with!

Now get out there and build a fort, splash in a puddle, climb a tree, play a game, shoot each other with nerf guns, hide in the dark and find each other with flashlights, make up stories together one word at a time.  Whatever it is, just play!  You’ll be so glad you did.

2 thoughts on “Just Play.

Leave a Reply

