A New Kind of Clean

I love clean.  Like clean, clean.  I love when a room sparkles and feels like you could eat off of any part of it.  The window sills, the floor,  the edge of the bath tub.  I don’t discriminate.  Clean is clean and clean makes me happy!

I know a lot of people dread the process of cleaning and I get it.  It’s time consuming, tedious and sometimes just plain gross but I get a super amount of satisfaction at the end result so it makes every spray and wipe worthwhile.

(For the record, I hate tidying.  I believe things should always be put back in there place and I shouldn’t have to scurry about the house placing things where they should have been placed to begin with!)

Over the years I have tried to alter my cleaning strategies to incorporate a bit more of an environmentally friendly approach.  Mr. Clean and Lysol got pushed aside and made way for Method cleaning products and vinegar.  The vinegar I am still completely satisfied with but the Method products are far from perfect, although very lovely smelling.    Some things I have just never changed though.  Windex is was still my best option for mirrors and dryer sheets are (sadly) still my way to go.  Though the green in each of you reading will be happy to know that I have kicked my obsession with downey fabric softener in the wash as well as a dryer sheet.  I’ve read how many chemicals are in fabric softeners and in a family that suffers from migraines we just didn’t need more triggers.

Over the years I have used a very few products from a super duper company called Norwex.  Things like 

and

have replaced the more conventional versions and I have been more than happy with both!  Of course, being environmentally friendly also means (oddly) putting out a bunch of money.  I’ve never been ready to make the complete switch just because of the initial start up cost of changing all of my products at once.  But more and more, I’m feeling ready.  I’m ready to incorporate

and

into my regular cleaning routine.  I may be the last person on earth to jump on this Norwex bandwagon of sorts but in case you, like me, haven’t made the switch yet I thought I’d share a bit about the company.

Here’s there mission statement:

All Norwex products support our company mission to improve the quality of life by radically reducing the use of chemicals in personal care and cleaning.  With a commitment to effective cleaning, responsible care for the earth, and the power of information, together we can become a generation to leave behind a legacy of improved quality of life.

I’ve just received my latest order of cleaning cloths.  A mirror cloth that is used only with water to bring windows and mirrors to a sparkling shine.  Move over Windex!  I also purchased a cleaning cloth for things like counters and bathtubs – again to be used only with water to effectively get things fabulously clean.  With water!  No chemicals!  No toxins for little people to be inhaling or sucking on!  And while the cost for the cloths might seem extravagant to start out with, if it means I’m not spending a load of cash on other products I’m assuming I’ll come out ahead in the end.

I’m off to test out my new products!  Report back soon…

One thought on “A New Kind of Clean

Leave a Reply

