Old Things and Spray Paint: DIY

I’ve been meaning to blog this for a long time because it is oddly one of my favourite things.  I say oddly because if you would have seen it in its original state you would have wondered why I told my mom not to throw it away.  My mom and I were going through old boxes of stuff which were going to be hauled away.  This tray was on the top of one of the boxes.  It was old, tarnished and kind of gaudy looking.  And quite frankly, not the kind of thing I ever imagined having in my house or being ‘my style’.  But for some reason I grabbed it.

Later that day I dug around in the garage for some matte black spray paint.  Two coats and an hour later – this is what I had and I LOVE it!  I also fancy fancy perfume bottles so I think the two go together perfectly.

After this find, I have, on a number of occasions, found myself in the housewares section of the thrift store looking for more treasures to take my trusty can of spray paint to.  I haven’t found any yet but I’ll be sure to let you know when I do!

when:  january 25, 2011

where:  my bedroom

what:  my DIY treasure

Leave a Reply

