School’s Out For Summer!

And we couldn’t be more excited!  The kids are enjoying their last lunch hour of the year as I type this.  And of course they’ve done absolutely nothing but eat junk, play games and watch movies for the last few days anyways!

What could be better?  Well, on the way to school this morning my eldest child stated, “Mom, for some reason I have butterflies in my stomach like I’m really nervous.  But I don’t know why!”

*Flash forward to September*  Umm…I know why!  Because this is his last day of elementary school!

Finally they (as a 5th grade class) had earned the ranks of being the oldest in the school.  They had the privilege of collecting the attendance sheets in the morning, were trusted to be let into the paper room, knew *almost* every kid in the school and could give you a mini-bio on each.  They felt like they knew the in’s and out’s of the school workings and which teachers rocked and which to cry about if you got.  They had moved (barely) beyond Pokemon at lunch time and onto competitive intramural games.  They now, in summation, walked with a certain swagger.

That swagger ends today!  Of course he has butterflies!  This is the end of a season for him.  The first one that I think he’s been truly conscious of.  His world is about to change.  And he’s nervous.  To be honest, I am too.

Leave a Reply

