Just What I Needed

When life gets busy some things are easy to let fall by the wayside.  This blog would be one of them.  When I’m a frequent poster it means life is very balanced – there’s enough going on that I have something to post about but not so much going on that I can’t find the time.

To be fair it also means that if I’m posting TOO often I may just be neglecting other things and focusing too much on it.  But that’s obviously not the case lately..

I haven’t even thought about posting since….well, my last post!

Here’s the bullet point list of what I’ve been up to:

  • My dad is in the hospital and has been given weeks to live.  We’re with him a LOT!
  • My work schedule has gone up to 30 hours a week.  That’s a lot of work.
  • I have one son in tennis, another in baseball, and yet another with food issues.  All three mean extra time and attention.
  • Grade 5’ers have a lot of homework.  My oldest son isn’t the most focused.  We spend a lot of time doing homework together.
  • I’ve cleared my photography schedule and passed all my current clients on to my dear friend Lara (who is a treasure for taking them!)  simply because time isn’t there to put into clients photos what I need to put into them.
  • My just before falling asleep hours are often spent thinking about the things I should have done today.  (things like, call that friend back, pick up a baby gift, make a meal for someone else in need, reply to that email, get back to that client, clean the house better so my mother-in-law doesn’t have to, pack my kids better lunches, spend more time reading scripture, be more emotionally “there” for everyone…etc, etc.)

Then I read this today from Amy of With Purpose.  Someone who is feeling just like me!?!  It’s so much better to know your not alone!

I’ve often thought about Christ and how He frequently passed people right by without helping them. And yet it was always right.

Somehow He understood what He could and couldn’t do, chose to do only the things the Father wanted Him to do and let the rest of it go. How did He feel about those He left “standing in line” waiting for Him? How did He feel when they said, “Pshaw. I thought you were the Messiah! How come you’re ignoring me and my needs?”

It’s not a matter of separating the good stuff from the bad stuff and only doing the good, but choosing the good stuff from the good stuff and only choosing the better. That’s what makes it hard.

Amen, sister!  You can read the entire post on her website here!

One thought on “Just What I Needed

  1. I’ve been thinking of you a lot lately. I know that your proverbial plate is full, but know that you’re considered, and cared for in the midst of it all. Bless you, friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

