6 or 16?!

It happened.  I heard the horrid words that I knew, ever since becoming a mother, that one day I would hear.  The words I’ve dreaded because it meant I wasn’t at all cool or understanding as a mother and I had entered a whole new realm.  A realm in which my children thought I was horrible.  Yesterday the words came.

“You ALWAYS say no!”

He said with great disdain.

Um…seriously?  This was not at all the moment that I thought it would be.  I thought it would happen when my boys were in the thick of their teenage years.  When they were wearing acid wash jeans (cause surely they’re going to come back just because I hate them so much) and t-shirts with bands on them.  I thought it would be over going to some party.  Or taking out the car.  Or girls.  Oh Lord help me when we start dealing with girls!  But, no.

The cry of, “You always say no!”  came from my 6 year old.  After asking for a bowl of cereal.  I simply said, “no.”  Because it was almost dinner time, though I didn’t explain that.

The moment was far less of an ordeal than I had thought.  It actually made me laugh.  All I could do was look at him and say, “Are you kidding me?  You’re only 6!”  Of course he had no idea why I was laughing.  But I have to admit, I’m glad I got that motherly moment over with early.  I think it may have prepared me, even softened the blow somewhat, for when it comes over more important things than cereal.

Leave a Reply

