A New Year with some New Thoughts

I really wanted to get this post done early in the new year and now that we’re on day 7 I’m just going to sit and do it!  I’ve decided that some times I just need to get something done and not worry about it being perfectly thought out, perfect edited and without spelling mistakes (that one’s going to be hard for me – I hate spelling mistakes!)

So here are my rambling thoughts on the New Year and some of the things I’ve laid out for myself in 2010.  Actually, let’s be realistic – God laid these out for me when he gave me this verse on the first day of the New Year in my devotions.  Let’s give credit where credit is due.

The verse I’ve (slash He’s) chosen for me to meditate on throughout this year is:

Grow in grace, and in the knowledge of our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.  2 Peter 3:18

Some thoughts from Spurgeon on this verse made me realize the depth of just these few short words and made me think it’s going to take an entire year of prayer, looking at my heart, challenging myself, more prayer and a lot of trust to really work through this verse.  Here are my thoughts in point form.  Cause it’s a point form kinda day!

Grow in faith.

I don’t know how this works exactly because I know that God is the giver of faith (I should have a reference here but I don’t.  If you’re interested I’ll look it up!)  And I know that Hebrews 11:1 says, “Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.”  I know I have faith but I am praying that God will deepen that this year through the study of His word and growing in the knowledge of His attributes.

Grow in love.

That my love may become more extended.  Less of me, more of others.  As well as farther reaching.  While not denying my husband, children and current circle of people reaching farther to love those beyond that.  Again, this will require much prayer and the Lord’s leading.  I’m trusting Him to bring people to me whom I need to love.  I’m slightly afraid of who He might bring.  In case you haven’t noticed, or you have but perhaps you’re love is just way deeper that mine – some people are really hard to love!

That my love would be more intense.  Deep love.  Caring love.  Concerned love.  Not fleeting thought love but love that makes me weep with those who weep and rejoice with those who are joyful.

That my love would be more practical.  Not just knowing I love but that my actions would show my love in a really simple and practical way.

That my love would influence every thought, word and deed and this love would stem from the love that I know in Christ.

Grow in  humility.

How does one guage their growth in humility without saying ridiculous things like, “I have attained humility this year.”  or “My humility is so much better than it use to be.”  So this may be one I don’t talk about a lot.  Not that not talking about something makes you humble.  but… hmm.  This one’s gonna be tricky.

My goal is to seek to lie low and to know more of my own nothingness and I think that comes from knowing more of God’s glory.  I think.

So there you have it.  2010 I’m ready for you!  In a humble way of course.  ha.

One thought on “A New Year with some New Thoughts

Leave a Reply

