I’ve been captivated!

By a new book, that is.  I haven’t read through an entire book in quite some time now. I just wasn’t feeling like I had the time and other things were taking precedence.  But now, oh my, now with all of my kids off in school I picked up a book and read.  A lot!

It’s by the incredibly talented writer Edith Schaeffer.  It’s called The Hidden Art of Homemaking:  Ideas for Creating Beauty in Everyday Life.

Mrs. Schaeffer’s writing is so inspiring to me.  She sees the world in a way different than most and yet not overly complex that when she describes things the rest of us can’t picture what she’s saying and agree.

I love this book.  I’ll put quotes up soon.

The following photo is one I took before one of my recent photo sessions.  It’s beautifully frustrating to me because no matter how hard I tried I couldn’t get all of the various lines straight.  One of them had to be angled which at first annoyed me.  But now I like it.  God knew I needed some unstraight lines that day!

Beautiful Frustration

4 thoughts on “I’ve been captivated!

  1. That sounds like a great book. I really need to read something like that. I’m glad I stumbled upon your blog. It looks like we have a lot of similar interests and passions. God Bless.

    Like

  2. Truly great, samantha (and welcome to my blog…). I found my copy of it at a second-hand store so it has that great old library smell. I’m certainly not the only one who loves that slightly musty book smell, am I?

    Like

  3. Thank-you. Sincerely. I truly believe it is a passion that God has given me and I am so thankful to be able to do what I love and use it to bless others through capturing moments of their lives and loved ones. The gift part I don’t really get. You point the camera. You push the button. *shrug*

    Like

Leave a Reply

