What I did today.

My alarm clock went off at 6:00 am and I ignored it for about 30 seconds thinking that it was my husbands alarm because it couldn’t possibly be mine.  It felt far too early for mine.  However, when I looked across the bed I realized that he wasn’t there!  I had completely slept through his 5 am alarm, his whole getting ready and leaving the house.  Aren’t I an attentive wife?!

6-6:30:  Stumble to bathroom.  Shower.  Dress.  Primp.

6:30 – 7:  Turn fireplace on.  Grab Spurgeon devotional and bible and snuggle into ‘my spot’ on the couch.

7:02: Phoenix joins me by the fire and requests that I read some of his library book.  It’s all about snakes.  Wonderful.  Did you know that the largest snake in the world ate an entire antelope.  Whole!  Seriously – that’s crazy.

7:10 – 7:20:  Breakfast prep.  Oatmeal with acidophilous.  Phoenix already has the sniffles after only one week of school.  Lame.  The other boys crawl out of bed.  Hayden gives the best, warmest, snuggliest hugs in the morning.  I love that.

7:20 – 7:40:  Make lunches.  Answer random questions.  “Mom, how come one side of my nose is plugged and then sometimes it switches to the other side”  I have no idea.  Learn interesting facts.  “Did you know a snake can dislocate its jaw so that it can eat bigger things.”  Again, wonderful.

7:40 – 8:  Pack school bags.  Help with hair.  Reminders of play dates.  Ask if everyone has brushed teeth.  Review spelling words.  Ask again if everyone has brushed teeth.  Get shoes on and head out the door.

8:25 – 8:40:  School drop off.  RSVP for this weekends birthday parties.  Confirm after school play dates.  Invite a friend over on Saturday.  Say big “good mornings” to some of my favourite people – my school mom gang.

8:50 – 9:45:  Coffee with my husband at Starbucks.  I really love banana bread.  We discussed the future.  We discussed the present.  We came up with a great new idea for my business (but you’ll have to wait…).

10-11:30:  Hopped into the truck, popped a cd into the player and drove.  I used the excuse in my head that I was location scouting, which I was, but I was also just driving.  I liked it.  I took some roads that we normally drive but drove them further than I ever have before.  I was on some dirt roads that I eventually backed down because I got sketchy of where they led.  I found a few new great spots for family photos.  I marveled at the orange leaves.  I thanked God for this day.

11:30:  I arrived  home.  Got the mail.  Turned on my computer and here I am.  I have all of my kids in school and I officially have nothing to do.  I like it.

Over and out.

Leave a comment