New challenges for summer: Meal planning

A few things popped into my mind yesterday that made me decide it was time to start meal planning.

For one, I somehow stumbled across this blog and I’ve been following it and loving the meal plans that she puts up every monday.  Simple meals for a family!  It’s given me new  ideas for with my family and has challenged me  in an, “I can do that!” sort of way.

I’m also trying to work on a very limited grocery budget.  I figure if I can do it in the summer it will really help me for the school year when I definitely buy more expensive “snacky” things like granola bars and crackers.

So in the spirit of meal planning – here’s my first week!

Monday:  Tuna Melts on homemade multigrain, Ceasar Salad and carrot sticks.

Tuesday:  Turkey Chili,  Whole Wheat Biscuits, and fresh raspberries.

Wednesday:  Rosemary Chicken, Brown Rice, Organic Greens with Raspberry Vinaigrette

Thursday:  Make your own Pizzas!  Homemade crust topped with sauce, mozza, ham/pepperoni, pineapple  and basil from our garden.

Friday:  Wraps (using the leftover chicken and rice) and Tortilla Chips with homemade guacamole.

So there you have it!

Here’s a sneak peek picture of our week camping.  More to come soon…

table

Leave a Reply

