Serious thought for cynics (like me!)

I know I’ve said it on here before.  I am a cynic.  There are many people in my life who would bear witness to this.  I feel like I try not to be but I just am.  I even use the excuse that, “it’s just how I am.”  

I didn’t ever really feel like there was a problem with my cynicism.  It must just be how God made my brain, right?  Until someone was cynical toward me and something I thought right and good.  It was then that I didn’t want to give this person the benefit I’d given myself.  This wasn’t just how they were made.  They’re downright cynical!  Of course in this moment I forgot my own cynicism.  

So….is cynicism a sin?  I don’t know.  If anyone wants to weigh in on this I’d be happy to hear what you have to say.

But this morning I did read this from Acts 5:38-39

So in the present case I tell you, keep away from these men and let them alone, for if this plan or this undertaking is of man, it will fail; but if it is of God, you will not be able to overthrow them.  You might even be found opposing God!”

This is the first thing that’s ever made me think about my cynicism in a biblical realm.  If I am skeptical about an plan, an organization, a person or group and I blatantly speak against it I may be found opposing God.  Yikes.

Leave a Reply

